Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Have a Question  
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
 Show Only Halal 

Alerts:

The Alert section also deals with food, non food items and any relevant news items. These alerts aware Muslim consumers about Halal & Not-Halal status of both food and non food items.

TITLE: PLEASE AVOID CONSUMEING THE FARM RAISED FISH

There are two types of fish available in supermarkets and seafood restaurants.

A. Wild Caught Fish: Fish caught on high seas or running rivers which are 100% Halal.

B. Farm Raised Fish: Fish raised on fish farm feeding them the fish meals. There are many types of fish meal feed to farm raised fish. They are as follows:

Here are the composition of FISH MEALS FEED TO FARM RAISED FISH

1. Fish Meal Ingredients:
Poultry Meal, Fish Meal, Poultry Fat, Fish Oil, Whole Wheat, Soybean Bean Meal, Corn Gluten Meal, Feather Meals, Rapeseed Oil, Vitamin A Acetate, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Vitamin E Supplement, Inosital, Calcium Peniolnate, Riboflavin, Nicotine Acid, Thiamonitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), Vitamin B12 supplement, D Biotin, Folic Acid, Ascorbyl Polyphosphate, Menadione, Sodium Bisulphate Complex, (vitamin K), A mineral Premix containing Manganese Sulphate, Zinc Melnionine, Calcium Iodale, Copper Sulphate, Sodium Solonile, Vitamin E supplement, DL Melnionine and Ethoxyquin (Antioxidant.(US Patented by Skretting Company of Canada.

2.  Byproduct feed – in Canada, farmed salmon can be fed byproducts from poultry processing such as feathers, necks and intestines;
Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs) – farmed salmon can be fed genetically modified soy and canola;
The environmental impacts of growing genetically modified organisms has not been adequately assessed.

3. They use Antibiotics and hormones in fish meal on the farmed side fish.

Analysis:
1. We do not know which farm use which fish meal.
2. They use antibiotic and hormones whose sources are mostly from pork.
3. According to many ulema eating of chicken feathers is not Halal. Use of non zabiha intestine is not Halal.
4. If feeds includes vitamins the source of vitamins is unknown and it may be from pork. Fat based vitamins could be made from pork fat.
5. Fish meal is not Halal or Kosher certified.

MCG recommend Muslims to find first whether fish is wild caught or farm raised then if it is farm raised then avoid buy farm raised fish from supermarkets or eating farm raised at restaurants such as Red Lobster.
 

 

Posted on: 10-18-16 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cheetose are not Halal in Canada

Br. Asad has provided this information:

From: <noreply@fritolay.com>
Date: 2 May 2016 at 13:15
Subject: A Message from Consumer Relations - RE: Cheetos® Soufflés - Grignotines à saveur de fromage, Reference #062747156A
To: asad.

Hi Asad,

Thank you for contacting PepsiCo Foods.

Many of the cheeses used in our seasonings are made with animal enzymes, similar to cheeses sold in the grocery store.  If you want to avoid these enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list "cheese" and "whey" as ingredients.  Only a few snacks have animal flavours and they will be listed on the ingredient statement, not hidden under "natural flavours."  

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay's Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Tostitos, Original SunChips and Rold Gold Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

Thank you again for choosing Frito Lay snacks.  We will continue to provide the information you need to make safe, great-tasting choices.


Sincerely,

Marie Lakoun
Consumer Relations
062747156A

Posted on: 05-28-16 00:00 AM


TITLE: New information on Doritos Snacks

Br. Asad has sent this information:

From: <noreply@fritolay.com>
Date: 2 May 2016 at 11:15
Subject: A Message from Consumer Relations - RE: Doritos® Chips tortilla aromatisées Fromage nacho, Reference #062747155A
To: asad.

Hi Asad,

Thank you for contacting PepsiCo Foods.

Many of the cheeses used in our seasonings are made with animal enzymes, similar to cheeses sold in the grocery store.  If you want to avoid these enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list "cheese" and "whey" as ingredients.  Only a few snacks have animal flavours and they will be listed on the ingredient statement, not hidden under "natural flavours."  

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay's Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Tostitos, Original SunChips and Rold Gold Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

Thank you again for choosing Frito Lay snacks.  We will continue to provide the information you need to make safe, great-tasting choices.


Best regards,

Rosine
Consumer Relations
062747155A

Posted on: 05-28-16 00:00 AM


TITLE: Canadian Halal Foods new E-mail Address

Please send all your inquiry to:

mcghalalfoods@gmail.com

Posted on: 04-14-16 00:00 AM


TITLE: Sunlight Hand and Auto Dish Products are not Halal

A Muslim consumer has provide this information:

From: <comments.sunlight@sunproducts.corp>
Date: Fri, Jul 31, 2015 at 10:54 AM
Subject: Sunlight Consumer Services Case #: 12778505
To:

Hello P,

Thank you for contacting us regarding Sunlight Hand and Auto Dish products.

We can not guarantee that no pork or animal matter is used during production of our products.

Sincerely,

Sunlight Consumer Services

Posted on: 02-03-16 00:00 AM


TITLE: A outside Lab found Alcohol in Sprite Soft Drink

Here is the conversion of PPM to Percent:

158 PPM = 0.0158% of Alcohol in Sprites Soft Drink

BARROW-AGEE LABORATORIES, LLC

 

 

!SSS THREEPLACE   MEMPIDS.TN 381i6 (901) 332-1590 FAX (901) 398-1518

 

 


Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products A'rTN:S. Rasheed UAhmed

10685 Rushmore Lane

Huntley, IL, 60142


Reporting  Date: 07/17/2015


 

Certificate  of Analysis

 


Banow-Agee  Laboratory Number.1114555

Sample Of: SPRITE SOFT DRINK

Sampleldentiftcatlon :CODE OEC 2115 R X C 11281


Sample Received: 07I08J2015 Sample Analyzed: 07/1612015


 

 

CHECK REC'D 7-08-15

 

Ship Date:

 

 

 

 

Assay Name:

Expected:

Result:

 

 

EthylAlcohol

 

10 MIN

 

>158

 

ppm

 

 * ESTIMATED AMOUNT  =471ppm

 

Method : AOCS Ba 13-87 Modified

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on: 07-23-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: A outside Lab found Alcohol in Dr. Pepper Soft Drink

Conversion from PPM to Percentage:

58 PPM = 0.0058%

BARROW-AGEE LABORATORIES, LLC

 

 

!SSS THREEPLACE   MEMPIDS.TN 381i6 (901) 332-1590 FAX (901) 398-1518

 

 


Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products A'rTN:S. Rasheed UAhmed

10685 Rushmore Lane

Huntley, IL, 60142


Reporting  Date: 07/17/2015


 

Certificate  of Analysis

 


Banow-Agee  Laboratory Number.1114555

Sample Of: SPRITE SOFT DRINK

Sampleldentiftcatlon :CODE OEC 2115 R X C 11281


Sample Received: 07I08J2015 Sample Analyzed: 07/1612015


 

 

CHECK REC'D 7-08-15

 

Ship Date:

 

 

 

 

Assay Name:

Expected:

Result:

 

EthylAlcohol

 

10 MIN

 

>158

 

ppm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

* ESTIMATED AMOUNT  =471ppm

 

Method : AOCS Ba 13-87 Modified

 

Posted on: 07-23-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: A outside Lab found Alcohol in Fanta Orange Soda

Conversion from PPM to Percentage:

71 PPM = 0.0071%

BARROW.AGEE

LABORATORIES, LLC

 

 

I S55 THREEPLACE MEMPms,TN 38116 (901) 332-1590 FAX (901) 398-1Sl 8

 

 


Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products ATIN:S.Rasheed UAhmed

10685 Rushmore Lane

Huntley,IL, 60142


Reporting Date: 07/17/2015


 

Certificate of Analysis

 


Barrow-Agee aboratory Number: 1114557 Semple Of: FANTA ORANGE SODA

Sample ldentlllcat!on:CODE  AUG 0315MDB2


Sample Received:07/08/2015 Sample Analyzed :07/16/2015


 

 

CHECK REC'D 7-08-15

 

Ship Dale:

 

 

 

 

Assay Name:

 

Result:

 

 

EthylAlcohol

 

10MIN

 

71

 

ppm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Method : AOCS Ba 13-87 Modlf'led

 

 

Call
Send SMS
Call from mobile
Add to Skype
You'll need Skype CreditFree via Skype

Posted on: 07-23-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: A outside Lab found Alcohol in Mountain Dew Soft Drink

Conversion from PPM to Percentage:

158 PPM = 0.0158%

BARROW-AGEE

LABORATORIES,  LLC

 

 

ISSS THRl!EPLACE MEMPinS, TN 38116 •(901) 332-1590 FAX (901) 398-1518

 

 


MuSlim Consumer Group For Food Product.a ATTN:S. Rasheed UAhmed

10685 Rushmore Lane

Huntley,IL, 60142


Reporting Date:0711712015


 

Certificate of Ar.alysi&

 


Barrow-Agee Laboratory Number: 1114558

Sample Of: MOUNTAIN DEW SOFT DRINK

Sample Identification: CODE  AUG 2415


Sample Received: 07/0S/.2015 Sample Anatped:07/161'2015


 

 

CHECK REC'D 7.08-15

 

Ship Date:

 

 

 

 

h.say Name:

Expected:

Result:

 

Ethyl Alcohol

 

10 MIN

 

>158

 

ppm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EmMATED AMOUNT = 250 ppm

 

Method : AOCS Ba 13-87 MocllfiR

 

 

 

Call
Send SMS
Call from mobile
Add to Skype
You'll need Skype CreditFree via Skype

Posted on: 07-23-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG spend money to serve Muslim Ummah for the presence of Alcohol in soft drinks

MCG has spend $2250 to analyzed 7 different soft drinks at independent labs for Alcohol content. Only Pepsi showed no alcohol in it. MCG is a not for profit organization but still spend money to find out which soft drink contains alcohol because MCG believes in this Hadith:

A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Muminin RA:

The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah) 3678 )

Posted on: 07-23-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: Midamar Owner was convicted of Fraud Over Halal Beef Exports

Courtesy of HALAL FOCUS:

USA: Iowa Businessman Convicted of Fraud Over Halal Beef Exports

| 14/07/2015 | Reply
ARTICLE ONE
Trish Mehaffey, The Gazette
July 13, 2015 | 8:17 pm

Acquitted of money laundering charges in halal beef export case

Bill-Aossey-copyCEDAR RAPIDS — Convicted Monday of most charges in a halal beef exporting scheme, Midamar Corp. founder William Aossey Jr. was put in jail while a federal judge considers what to do with the 73-year-old until his sentencing.

Aossey was convicted by a jury on 15 of 19 federal charges involving the sale of misbranded “halal” beef products and falsifying export documents and certificates.

The founder of the Cedar Rapids company, at 1105 60th Ave. S.W., was accused in October 2014 of falsely representing that the beef he was exporting to Malaysia and Indonesia met strict slaughtering standards.

After a trial last week, the jury acquitted him Monday of four charges of money laundering but convicted him on other charges including conspiracy and wire fraud. He could face years in prison when sentenced.

Aossey, who was free during his trial, was taken into custody by U.S. Marshals after the government asked for him to remain in jail pending his sentencing. He appeared in leg chains for the detention hearing.

During that hearing, U.S. District Chief Judge Linda Reade heard testimony about Aossey’s relationships with others charged with crimes — including Ali Al Herz and three of his family members, accused of trying to smuggle guns to Lebanon — and his international ties that pose a flight risk.

Haytham Faraj, Aossey’s attorney, argued his client isn’t charged in the gun smuggling case. Aossey didn’t know that weapons were in a shipping container so it’s “guilt by association” to try to link him to that case, Faraj said.

Months ago, Midamar initiated a clothing drive to collect items for refugees in Lebanon.

Midamar employees testified Monday they boxed up some items for the shipment but didn’t know about the guns and said the container belonged to Ali Al Herz, not Midamar or Aossey.

Cedar Rapids Police Det. John Matias, who is working the gun smuggling investigation, testified Aossey and Ali Al Herz were good friends and that Al Herz had worked at Midamar for several years in the past.

He said Aossey called the freight company, upset, when he learned the container was being searched by authorities. Matias said Aossey called it “my” container.

Matias then identified a photo from a surveillance video that showed Aossey looking in the container that was at Midamar in May. He also walked inside of it.

However, the guns were found hidden within Bobcat skid loaders in the shipment and couldn’t easily be seen.

Michael Hare, an IRS special agent, testified that Aossey showed up after authorities arrived with a search warrant at Midamar in May and was “disrespectful” and “belligerent,” demanding to have agents’ names.

Reade said it was odd Aossey would be so agitated if he didn’t think anything was wrong.

Faraj said it was understandable from Aossey’s perspective because he was trying to do something good by sending relief items to refugees, and being stopped by authorities for an unknown reason.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Richard Murphy admitted there wasn’t direct information tying Aossey to buying or smuggling guns. But he argued it was difficult to believe Aossey didn’t know about it.

Murphy said Aossey couldn’t be “trusted to abide” by the law. He said Aossey had worldwide connections and could leave the country.

Murphy added that Aossey admitted during the beef export trial to breaking the law by telling employees to remove required USDA labels and directing others to falsify export documents.

Faraj argued Aossey’s entire life is in Cedar Rapids — his work and family — and he wouldn’t risk it by leaving the country.

Reade, however, said Aossey will remain in jail until she makes a ruling on whether to release him pending sentencing, which could be, at least, a few months away.

Aossey was found guilty of 15 counts — one count of conspiracy to make false statements, sell misbranded meat and commit mail and wire fraud; seven counts of making or causing false statements to be made on export applications; and seven counts of wire fraud.

Each count of the wire fraud alone calls for up to 20 years.

ARTICLE TWO

By Ryan J. Foley – Associated Press

A prominent Iowa businessman was found guilty Monday of falsifying documents as part of a scheme to export beef to Malaysia and Indonesia that didn’t meet those countries’ strict slaughter standards.

A federal jury in Cedar Rapids convicted Bill Aossey Jr. of 15 of 19 charges he faced, including conspiracy, making false statements on export certificates and wire fraud. He was acquitted of four counts of money laundering.

Aossey is the founder of the Midamar Corp., a Cedar Rapids-based company that is considered a pioneer in the sale of halal meat and food products. The 73-year-old is also a longtime leader in the city’s relatively large Muslim community.

After the verdict, U.S. District Judge Linda Reade ordered Aossey held in federal custody. Assistant U.S. Attorney Rich Murphy said Aossey could face a prison term of five or more years at his sentencing, which hasn’t been scheduled.

Prosecutors say Aossey oversaw a scheme in which Midamar employees lied about the origin of their products so they could export them to Malaysia and Indonesia from 2007 to 2010. Both countries restrict imports to slaughterhouses that are certified as meeting their standards for halal, or slaughter practices based on Islamic law.

The products being shipped had come from a Minnesota slaughterhouse, PM Beef, that wasn’t approved by Malaysia or Indonesia. Instead, Aossey directed employees to remove PM Beef’s establishment number from the packaging and replace them with ones that falsely showed that the products had come from J.F. O’Neill Packing Co. in Omaha, Nebraska, a slaughterhouse that had certification.

Testifying in his own defense during the weeklong trial, Aossey admitted that he told employees to change the establishment numbers and that the company falsified export documents. But he said he didn’t believe those actions were criminal and repeatedly described them as minor administrative infractions — an explanation criticized Monday by the judge.

Aossey’s attorney, Haytham Faraj, said he respected the jury’s verdict but would appeal. He said Aossey admitted making misrepresentations but argued they were immaterial because the customers were satisfied with the products they received. He said PM Beef’s slaughtering methods were accepted as halal.

“The meat was halal and it continued to be halal,” he said.

Faraj said the violations were addressed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, which sanctioned Midamar after discovering them in 2010, and should not have later been charged as crimes.

A USDA inspector testified that such labeling violations were serious and could result in countries blocking all beef imports from the U.S.

The company and Aossey’s two sons, Midamar directors Jalal and Yahya “Bill” Aossey, are also awaiting trial as part of the yearslong investigation. Each has pleaded not guilty to allegations that Midamar sold millions in beef to customers overseas that didn’t follow the halal practices promised in its labeling and advertising.

Faraj said that, in his experience, it was “highly unusual” for a judge to order a white-collar criminal jailed pending sentencing. He called his client “a nice old man” who was known in the community for his generosity.

But during a detention hearing Monday, prosecutors tried to link Aossey to a scheme in which four defendants are charged with using Midamar’s shipping facilities in Cedar Rapids to smuggle weapons to Lebanon. Aossey had been in contact with the suspects, one of whom is a close friend, and is shown on surveillance video briefly going into one of the containers after it was packed, prosecutors argued.

Faraj said Aossey was unaware of the weapons and shouldn’t face “guilt by association.”

But Reade said she was skeptical of Aossey’s claim of ignorance, noting he was upset after learning the container had been seized.

ARTICLE THREE

OPINION

Is Falsely Claiming Food Is Halal a Federal Crime
By Johanna Markind – American Thinker

The US Department of Justice appears to be criminally prosecuting people for failing to satisfy Islamic religious standards, thereby putting the First Amendment’s Establishment Clause at risk.

The case concerns the financial empire of the Aossey family of Cedar Rapids, Iowa.  To summarize briefly, last year the government indicted brothers Jalel and Yahya Aossey, along with two companies they operate, Midamar Corporation (Midamar) and Islamic Services of America, Inc. (ISA).  Midamar distributes supposedly halal meat, which is to say, meat slaughtered according to Islamic law.   Islamic Services of America, Inc. (ISA), certifies meat and other products as halal.  Jalel, Yahya, and their father William (Bill) Aossey serve as corporate directors.  Yahya is president of ISA.  Bill is president of Midamar.

ISA’s website claims the company is a “globally recognized symbol of Halal integrity.  Islamic Services of America is a leading Halal Certification body in the United States and North America, recognized internationally.”  Midamar’s website claims it is “a trusted Halal brand that has earned a solid reputation for Halal integrity.”  Previously, Midamar’s website also claimed the company was a “trusted Halal food supplier and sponsor for the annual conferences and conventions hosted by ISNA, CAIR, AMC, ICNA, and MAS, and W.D. Muhammad” – each of which has “had dealings with Islamic extremist and/or hate groups.”  It is unclear whether Midamar still supplies food to these groups.

The government’s theory is that the defendants sold non-halal meat by misrepresenting it as halal.  Some of the claimed misconduct involved falsifying paperwork to make it appear as though the meat were slaughtered at a warehouse whose meat was halal, whereas in fact it was slaughtered at another warehouse whose meat was not halal.  Other claims are even more obviously religious.  For example, the indictment states, “Contrary to representations made by defendants… beef certified by defendant ISA as complying with the Halal slaughter standards… had not been slaughtered in accordance with the represented or required standards.”  It also claims defendants misrepresented “the manner of slaughter” and “the level of adherence to certain represented Halal practices and standards.”

Bill Aossey was separately indicted two months before the others.  The charges against him are more straightforward and less encumbered with religious claims.

On June 5,  Jalel and Yahya Aossey, along with Midamar and ISA, filed a motion to dismiss some claims against them on the theory that the court could not decide whether they lied about the meat’s halal status without making religious determinations that would violate the Establishment Clause.  The defendants complain, “The United States Attorney’s office seeks the criminal enforcement of adherence to Halal slaughter requirements of the Muslim countries of Malaysia, Indonesia, Kuwait, and UAE.”

It is possible that the charges are sufficiently focused on objective issues of false paperwork to survive the defendants’ challenge intact.

It is worth noting that last January, former Midamar operations manager Philip Payne pleaded guilty to falsifying US Department of Agriculture marks of inspection of halal meat shipments, “to give the false impression that shipments of beef complied with import requirements of Malaysia and Indonesia where the beef was shipped and also complied with US export requirements.”  Payne also admitted that some meat Midamar sold as halal was actually kosher.

But, it should be noted that federal courts have generally declined to intervene in claims of religious fraud, as noted in defendants’ motion.  In the 1995 case, Barghout v. Bureau of Kosher Meat & Food Control, the federal Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals struck down a Baltimore ordinance making it a misdemeanor to sell non-kosher food mislabeled as kosher.  Commack Self-Service Kosher Meats, Inc. v. Rubin is a 2000 case in which a federal court struck down New York State laws aimed at protecting consumers from fraudulent claims that food is kosher.  In the 2013 case Wallace v. ConAgra Foods, Inc., the lower court declined on First Amendment grounds to hear plaintiffs’ claim that the defendant “failed to slaughter cattle used in its products in compliance with ‘objective’ standards” required for the meat to be considered kosher; an appeals court later returned the case to state court on jurisdictional grounds.

One “usual suspect” has been notably absent from the proceedings.  The American Civil Liberties Union has previously opposed government involvement in identifying religiously-acceptable food.  Besides representing George Barghout in the case noted above, it filed a lawsuit in 2009 challenging the constitutionality of a Georgia law, the Kosher Food Labeling Act.  “By mandating that any food sold as kosher in the state of Georgia must meet the ‘Orthodox Hebrew religious rules and requirements,’” the ACLU explained, “the challenged statute delegitimizes alternative interpretations of kosher adhered to in other Jewish communities.”  That suit was voluntarily dismissed after Georgia changed its law.  Despite its track record on the issue, the ACLU did not respond to inquiry about whether it had any Establishment Clause concerns over prosecuting someone for halal meat violations.

The ACLU’s Iowa chapter likewise declined to express an opinion about the prosecution.  Interestingly, ACLU-Iowa was previously on the same side as the Aosseys on an Establishment Clause issue.  Back in 2003, the Aosseys were involved in a project of Muslim Youth Camps of America (MYCA) to build a camp on the shores of Coralville Lake.  The proposed development tract was owned by the US Army Corps of Engineers, and would have included construction of a 36-foot high prayer tower, in addition to a conference center, cabins, and a caretaker’s residence.  Bill Aossey was MYCA’s representative, and Jalel Aossey served as a board member.  On that occasion, ACLU-Iowa had no concerns about the prayer tower on federal land violating the Establishment Clause.  About the current case, ACLU-Iowa has taken no position.

The government has not yet responded to the motion.  The court gave it until one week after the conclusion of Bill Aossey’s trial to respond.  The trial concluded July 13 with a verdict of guilty on 15 of the 19 charges against him.  Jalel and Yahya Aossey are scheduled to begin trial on September 28.

Johanna Markind is associate counselor at the Middle East Forum

Posted on: 07-16-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: Some Bakery Products are made with Ham, Pork and Wine at all Starbucks storee

MCG has just completed research at Starbucks and published it under Chain Restaurants because many Muslim consumers are demanding to evaluate their products.

Some bakery products are made with Ham, Pork and Wine at all Starbucks store. Although there are very few Halal bakery products are available at Starbucks but there is a chance that they may be cross contaminated with Ham, Pork and wine so we request Muslim consumers to avoid eating any bakery products at Starbucks stores.

100% Coffee, !00% Tea, Starbucks Doubleshot® Light Espresso Drink, Starbucks® Cold Brew Coffee and Mocha Frappuccino Blended Coffee without Whipped Cream with Whole Milk can be consumed.

Posted on: 07-16-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCDonald said that it is not true their coffee contain pork lard

There is a rumor circulting the following messages

" Our Coffee contains French Fry Grease to speed up the heating process.

Our Grease may be derived from Pork Lard.

Sorry for inconvenience this may cause."

McDonald's Corporation

1-800-225-5531( this number is actually belong to KFC)

MCG called McDonald they told MCG that it is a rumor and not true. McDonald gave case number 12124009 to deny the rumor. McDonald said the this rumor was started at www.snopes.com

MCG suggested to McDonald to deny this rumor through a Press Release or state on their website.

Please call McDonald at1-800-244-622 1-800- 225-5532 to confirm that this is not true.

 

Call
Send SMS
Call from mobile
Add to Skype
You'll need Skype CreditFree via Skype

Posted on: 07-08-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: TITLE: Indian Government banned the sale of Maggie Noodles in India

According to Al Jazeera News Maggie Noodles Indian Government banned the sale of Nestlé's Maggie Noodles due to high level of lead.

Posted on: 06-05-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Natural and Artificial Flavor of Tim Horton baked products contain Alcohol

A sister has provided this e-mail from Tim Horton in Canada:

I contacted timhortons customer care department by email and here is what they said: Thank you for taking the time to contact Tim Hortons Head Office with your inquiry. Your request was for information regarding the use of ethyl alcohol as a flavour carrier in our products. Many of our baked goods contain added flavours, which may contain trace amounts of ethyl alcohol. Please note that any alcohol in baked products will evaporate during the baking process. Please note however that ethyl alcohol may be an ingredient in the flavourings for all donut fillings. The alcohol content in the finished product would be trace. Please note that if natural or artificial flavour is listed, then the product may contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier. We have confirmed that our Iced Capps contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier for the flavors. We have also confirmed that the flavors used in our donuts without fillings do not contain alcohol. and they also told me that there is no cross contamination in their products regards - 01-18-15 21:38:24

Posted on: 01-19-15 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Certified Pork Bones in South Africa

Courtesy of The U.U.C. S.A:

The U. U. C. S. A View in your browser THE TRAVESTY OF “HALAAL” PORK BONES ICSA – a so-called “Islamic Council of South Africa” – is squarely responsible for the ludicrous debacle of “HALAAL” Pork Bones

To

Foodscientist1@yahoo.com

Today at 4:07 AM

THE TRAVESTY OF “HALAAL” PORK BONES

                        

 

http://zaimages.gmimage3.com/za_members/68711/ftp/EditorImages/pork_bones.jpg                        

ICSA – a so-called “Islamic Council of South Africa” – is squarely responsible for the ludicrous debacle of “HALAAL” Pork Bones sold by North Beach SPAR in Durban.

The explanation given by SPAR may satisfy ICSA who is responsible for this debacle. But it does not satisfy the Muslim community. It is not the fault of SPAR. SPAR is a non-Muslim business concern that sells PORK whether it be fresh or frozen, it matters not. PORK is PORK. PORK and everything related to the PIG is HARAAM. But the accursed ‘halaal’ certificates issued by the accursed money-coining ‘halaal’ certificate entrepreneurs are the true criminals who should take the blame for “HALAAL” PORK BONES. There is no need for SPAR to apologise to the accursed ICSA porker. SPAR is a pork-seller. There is no secret conundrum in this fact.

The shaitaani ICSA is fully aware that SPAR sells PORK. That the PORK is frozen and supposedly not cut and packed on the premises does not justify a Muslim organisation issuing a “halaal” certificate to a non-Muslim business, especially when the same business deals in PORK as well.

The “mistake” mentioned by SPAR is now a common excuse for a common malpractice – “halaal” pork. This type of “mistake” has happened too many times, and all establishments are complicit ub the repeated PORK debacles.

Muslims have by “mistake” or deception been fed with PORK that was the the “halaal” product of SANHA, MJC, etc., and it will not be surprising if Muslims are still consuming PORK deceptively or “mistakenly” labelled mutton/beef.

As long as the business houses of non-Muslims are certified “halaal”, consuming PORK is a real, living danger. Granting ‘halaal’ certificates to non-Muslims who stock PORK on the same premises, does boggle the mind.

 

for more info visit the U.U.C.S A website @ www.uucsa.org 

Posted on: 09-08-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Tim Horton Ice Capps contain Alcohol

A sister has provided this e-mail from Tim Horton:

From: <GUEST_SERVICES@TIMHORTONS.COM>
Date: August 12, 2014 at 12:19:10 PM CDT
To: hotmail.com>
Subject: Tim Hortons
 
 

Dear S,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Tim Hortons Head Office with your inquiry.  Your request was for information regarding the use of ethyl alcohol as a flavour carrier in our products.

Many of our baked goods contain added flavours, which may contain trace amounts of ethyl alcohol.  Please note that any alcohol in baked products will evaporate during the baking process. Please note however that ethyl alcohol may be an ingredient in the flavourings for all donut fillings. The alcohol content in the finished product would be trace. Please note that if natural or artificial flavour is listed, then the product may contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier.

Please see attachment for Animal Content information.

We have confirmed that our Iced Capps contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier for the flavours. We have also confirmed that the flavours used in our donuts without fillings do not contain alcohol.

Furthermore, at Tim Hortons, we employ trained individuals who review all products (including their ingredient lists) thoroughly to ensure they are safe for our guests to consume.  We comply with all government regulations to provide safe and acceptable food items.

We hope this information will help to clarify your concerns regarding Tim Hortons products.  Please call us on the guest service number at 1-888-601-1616 if you require more information.

Yours truly,

 

The TDL Group Corp.

Wendy,
Guest Services Representative
Toll Free: 1-888-601-1616 
www.timhortons.com

*********DO NOT DELETE***********
If you respond to this email, please respond with this text in your reply email in order to better serve you: {SrvReqNo:[8001553163]}.
****************************************

Posted on: 08-15-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Tim Horton Animal Fat & By Products March 2014

A sister has provided this information:

Products Free of Animal Fat
The following Tim Hortons baked goods have been produced without the use of animal fats and by-products (including gelatin and rennet). Please note many of these products contain milk and/or egg.
 Donuts & Timbits
 Danishes & Croissants
 Muffins
 Tea Biscuits (excluding the Ham & Cheese Tea Biscuit)
 Cookies
 Classic & Specialty Bagels
In addition:
 All donuts are cooked in 100% vegetable based fats and oils
 All donut glaze is completely vegetable based
 The ingredient, L-cysteine, of all Tim Hortons products is synthetic
 Mono- and diglycerides in all Tim Hortons products are vegetable based.

HOT BOWLS TYPE OF ANIMAL CONTENT
Baked Beans (Québec only)
Pork
Cauliflower & Cheese Soup (Canada only)
Milk
Chicken Noodle Soup
Chicken, Egg, Milk
Chili
Beef
Clam Chowder
Fish and Shellfish, Milk
Cream Of Asparagus Soup (Québec only)
Milk
Cream of Broccoli Soup
Milk
Cream of Carrot Soup (Québec only)
Milk
Creamy Field Mushroom Soup (Canada only)
Milk
French Onion Soup
Milk, Enzymes
Hearty Mixed Vegetable Soup
No animal content
Italian Wedding Soup (Canada only)
Chicken, Beef, Milk
Italian Wedding Soup (USA only)
Chicken, Beef, Milk, Egg
Minestrone Soup
Pork/Beef (Flavour), Milk
Hearty Potato Bacon Soup
Pork (Bacon), Milk
Split Pea With Ham Soup
Chicken, Pork (Ham), Milk
Tomato with Whole Grain Pasta Soup
Milk
Turkey & Wild Rice Soup
Turkey, Chicken, Milk, Egg, Gelatin (Pork), Beef
Creamy Sundried Tomato Soup
Milk
Creamy Chicken Rotini
Chicken, Milk, Egg
Macaroni & Cheese (USA only)
Milk, Egg
 Swiss and Cheddar Cheese Slices contain microbiological rennet (not from animal source)
 Shredded Cheddar Cheese contains microbiological rennet (not from animal source)
 Processed Cheddar Cheese contains rennet (animal source)
 Processed Mozzarella Cheese contains rennet and enzymes (animal source)
 Cheese Tea Biscuits, Croissants and Bagels contain microbiological rennet (not from animal source)
 Yogurt in the Yogurt and Berries contains gelatin (animal source)
 The Bacon and Sausage used on the Breakfast Sandwich are derived from pork
 The Turkey Sausage Patty used on the Breakfast Sandwich is derived from turkey
 Yogurt (USA only) for Fruit Smoothies contains gelatin (animal source)
 Pesto Sauce (USA only) contains microbiological rennet and enzymes (not from animal source)

Posted on: 08-15-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Many Tim Horton Baked Goods Flavors are made with Alcohol

A sister has provided this information:

From: <GUEST_SERVICES@TIMHORTONS.COM>
Date: August 12, 2014 at 12:19:10 PM CDT
To: <hotmail.com>
Subject: Tim Hortons
 
 

Dear S

Thank you for taking the time to contact Tim Hortons Head Office with your inquiry.  Your request was for information regarding the use of ethyl alcohol as a flavour carrier in our products.

Many of our baked goods contain added flavours, which may contain trace amounts of ethyl alcohol.  Please note that any alcohol in baked products will evaporate during the baking process. Please note however that ethyl alcohol may be an ingredient in the flavourings for all donut fillings. The alcohol content in the finished product would be trace. Please note that if natural or artificial flavour is listed, then the product may contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier.

Posted on: 08-15-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Junior Strength Advil Chewables are not Halal

According Pfizer Canada Junior Strength Advil Chewables are made with gelatin which could be pork or non zabiha beef.

Reference number CCA14062978 dated August 18, 2014

Posted on: 08-14-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Krispy Kreme products are Mashbooh

Krispy Kreme do not have ingredients statements on their website and they refused to provide to MCG by e-mail. Since MCG do not have the ingredients statement of their donuts and other product we have no choice but to assign all their products as MASHBOO. We recommend Muslim consumers in USA and Canada not to consume Krispy Kreme products. From: krispy.kreme@casupport.com Sent: Wed 8/06/14 6:28 AM To: halalfoods@hotmail.com Dear Mr. Ahmed, Thank you for your email regarding the use of alcohol in Krispy Kreme products. Please contact us at 1-800-4KRISPY (1-800-457-4779). We are able to assist you Monday - Friday from 7am to 7pm EST. Due to the fact that written information can be manipulated, we have chosen not to email out information regarding these specific ingredients. Because of the sensitivity of these questions, we would like to verbally communicate with each of our customers that are interested in finding out more information. With this, we also reduce the risk of modified versions of our information becoming available on social media websites. We look forward to hearing from you. Best regards, Lyndon Palmer Krispy Kreme Customer Experience www.krispykreme.com August 2014

Posted on: 08-06-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Bolthouse Farms Juices are not Halal

A Muslim consumer has provide this information:

Tonya Norwood <tonyan@bolthouse.com>
 

Dear S,

Thank you for contacting Bolthouse Farms and for your interest in our beverages.  Alcohol may be used as a carrier in our natural flavors.  The amount of alcohol that is introduced via the natural flavors is negligible.  It is far less than the ½% legal limit for juice beverages due to the natural fermentation of the fruit.

Thank you for your continued support.  We appreciate your business.  If we may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to write or call our Customer Service line at (800) 467-4683.

Sincerely,

 

Tonya Norwood

Consumer Relations

Wm. Bolthouse Farms Inc.

7200 East Brundage Lane | Bakersfield, CA 93307

P 800-467-4683 | F 661-366-6601

www.bolthouse.com

www.facebook.com/bolthousefarms

www.twitter.com/bolthousefarms

August 2014

Posted on: 08-06-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Reactine Tablets are not Halal in Canada

Reactine is generic name of Cetirizine Hydrochloride manufactured by Zyrtec brand of USA. Reactine is a antihistamine consumed for allergy. The company has informed MCG that it is made with animal derived ingredients. So it is not Halal for Muslims.

Posted on: 08-05-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Downy Liquid Fabric Softeners are made with Pork and non zabiha Beef fat

Proctor & Gamble has informed MCG that all Downy liquid fabric softeners are made with pork and non zabiha beef fat. They are not free of animal by products.

Reference number 20260973 dated July 21, 2014

Posted on: 07-21-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Indian Made Product AppFiz is Mushbooh

This is a Indian product. AppFiz is a carbonated apple juice product manufactured by Parle Agro. These are ingredients of AppFiz in India:

Water
Reconstituted Apple Juice
CO2
Sugar
Malic Acid
Citric Acid
Permitted (Class II) Preservatives (E211 Sodium Sulphite, E224 Potassium Metabisulphite)
Ascorbic Acid

Excluding Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients.

If no pork or beef gelatin was used during processing of reconstitute apple juice and no Haram hidden ingredients are used and if it has a green dot on the package then it can be consider as Halal

Posted on: 06-11-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dairy Queen Products are not Halal

MCG has reconfirmed with Dairy Queen with reference number 668077 dated June 11, 2014 that they do not use kosher certified ingredients. Each franchise buy their own raw material from different suppliers.

MCG considered all Dairy Queen products as not Halal.

Dear Rasheed,

Thank you for contacting International Dairy Queen, Inc. (IDQ) with your
request for information regarding Dairy Queen® products that are certified
Kosher.

The products, including Dairy Queen soft serve, sold in Dairy Queen
restaurants come from a variety vendors. For this reason IDQ is unable to
guarantee that any product sold within the Dairy Queen system is Kosher
certified.

As you may already know, most Dairy Queen restaurants are independently
owned and operated franchises. As such, any decision to obtain Kosher
certification is made by the independent franchise owner/operator of each
Dairy Queen restaurant. IDQ recommends that you contact the Dairy Queen
restaurants you frequently patronize and inquire whether their facility
has been certified Kosher or if their products are Kosher certified.

Thank you again for contacting Dairy Queen. We appreciate your interest in
our products, and I hope this information is helpful to you.

Best Regards,

Abby P
Consumer Relations Specialist
American Dairy Queen Corporation

Posted on: 06-11-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Lacotse (a milk sugar) may be the source of Pork DNA in Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate in Malaysia

Lactose a milk sugar is part of ingredients of Cadbury Dairy Milk Hazelnut Chocolate and Cadbury Dairy Milk Roast Almond Chocolate.

Lactose is made from whey, whey is a by-product of cheese making. Whey from which the lactose obtained has to be sweet whey not acid whey where rennet enzyme is not used. Milk is curd by adding rennet enzyme to milk. Rennet enzyme can be made from pork or beef or microbial source. Some times Lipase (fat breaking) enzyme is also added to milk. Again Lipase enzyme can be obttained from pork or beef or microbial source.

Only microbial rennet enzyme and microbial lipase enzyme are Halal.

It is possible that the lactose is obtained from a dairy plant where cheese is made with pork rennet, pork lipase and also microbial rennet and microbial lipase. Probably the line was not properly cleaned so cross contamination happened or finished microbial enzyme used whey may be contaminated with pork rennet whey.

The other source of Pork DNA in Cadbury Dairy milk chocolate may br from emulsifiers or fat based ingredients. Same above sitauation may have happened.

Halal certification is not easy, you have to consider every possiblity, some Halal certifying organizations do not pay attention to details and possiblity of cross contamination. You have to be trained or have experience in working in cheese plants and other food plants. The manufacturer must have a very good HACCP, its implemintation and management. Similarly have very good Total Quality Management of cheese plant or other food plant.

Posted on: 06-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG is not who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc . in Malaysia

MCG is not who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc . in Malaysia because we do not research food products in Malaysia and Indonesia.

Majority of Cadbury products in USA and Canada are kosher certified and no pig derived ingredients are used. If Cadbury do not use alcohol as a solvent or carrier in the flavors then they are Halal. But if alcohol is used as solvent or carrier in the flavors then all Cadbury products are considered as Not Halal. Beside flavor all other ingredients are Halal because it is under Orthodox Kosher certification which meets Halal requirements.

No pig by product are used in US or Canadian made Cadbury products because they are kosher certified by orthodox Kosher organization.

Mondelez (A old Nabisco Snack company) is not telling Muslim consumers in USA and Canada whether their products made with alcohol containing flavors or not while other food companies provide the information about presence or absence of alcohol in flavors. This news was brought to us by Br. Hasan Raza a Muslim consumer before the following news was published on www.yahoo.com today:

Indonesia testing Cadbury products after Malaysia halal uproar

Reuters

By By Fransiska Nangoy and Al-Zaquan Amer Hamzah May 30, 2014 5:12 AM

By Fransiska Nangoy and Al-Zaquan Amer Hamzah

JAKARTA/KUALA LUMPUR (Reuters) - Indonesian authorities said on Friday they were testing products made by British confectioner Cadbury to check they complied with Islamic standards after two chocolate varieties in neighboring Malaysia were found to be contaminated with pork DNA.

The scandal over the ingredient banned under Islamic dietary laws has sparked outrage among some Muslim groups in Malaysia, who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc .

Concerns over halal food standards could jeopardize Mondelez's sales in Muslim markets that are larger than Malaysia, such as Indonesia, home to the world's largest Muslim population, and the Middle East.

"After such an incident, it is prudent to do a test on the other variants to see if they also have traces of the pig DNA. We may have the result in a few days," Roy Alexander Sparingga, head of Indonesia's Food and Drug Monitoring Agency, told Reuters.

Sparingga said the tests would be done on the 10 varieties of Cadbury products that are certified in Indonesia as halal - or permissible according to Islamic law. Those products did not include the two types of Dairy Milk chocolate that Cadbury Malaysia recalled this week after finding pork traces.

Malaysian Islamic authorities tried to cool anger against Cadbury by saying it remained unclear if the contamination was the company's fault.

"People need to understand that we can't immediately take action against Cadbury when there's no solid evidence yet or if contamination occurred in the factory itself or if it was external factors," said Othman Mustapha, the director general of Malaysia's Department of Islamic Development, or JAKIM.

"What's happening to Cadbury now is akin to a person who's remanded and placed in lockup. They have not been found guilty so this is just a suspension," he added.

JAKIM, which is responsible for awarding halal certification in Malaysia, is conducting further tests on the suspect Cadbury products to confirm the initial findings by the health ministry.

MALAYSIA AUTHORITIES DAMPEN CONCERNS

Cadbury Malaysia said in a statement that it had withdrawn the two products as a precaution and that it had no reason to believe there was pork-related content in its other foods.

"We stand by our halal certification and we have the highest levels of product labeling standards," it said.

Products in Muslim nations are regularly checked to ensure they are halal. Besides pork, items considered non-halal by Muslims include alcohol and the meat of animals and birds that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites.

Non-halal food scandals have erupted in Southeast Asia before. In 2001, Japanese food giant Ajinomoto Co Inc <2802.T> became embroiled in a similar case after the Indonesian Council of Ulemas, the highest Islamic authority, accused the company of using pig enzymes in the production process of the widely used seasoning monosodium glutamate.

The then Indonesian president stepped in to try to defuse the row which had hit the company's share price. Ajinomoto's local company subsequently publicly apologized and withdrew some products from the Indonesian market.

On Thursday, a Malaysian Muslim retail group said it would ask the 800 stores it represents to stop selling all products made by Cadbury, Mondelez and U.S. food giant Kraft, which acquired Cadbury in 2010 in a $19-billion deal. Together with a Muslim consumer group, it called on Malaysians to boycott all those companies' products.

Mondelez is the name of what remains of Kraft Foods Inc after it spun off its North American grocery business as Kraft Foods Group . Its brands include Oreo cookies and Ritz crackers.

Malaysia's National Fatwa Council, which issues official guidance on Islamic issues, said on Friday it supported the withholding of halal status on the two Cadbury products but that the company should not be punished unless the breach was proven to be intentional.

"The authorities need to do their investigation to see if the accusations are valid, and to see where the pollution happened, whether it was deliberate or accidental," Abdul Shukor Husin, the council's committee chairman, told Reuters.

"Muslim people who had consumed the product that had been certified halal but contained pig DNA should not worry about the purity of their bodies. Islam is not a rigid religion."

(Additional reporting by Trinna Leong in KUALA LUMPUR and Jonathan Thatcher in JAKARTA; Writing by Stuart Grudgings,; Editing by Miral Fahmy

Posted on: 05-31-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: New Information about Isopropyl Alcohol being as Haram

Isopropyl Alcohol is not used in the processed food products but used in very few ingredients during its processing for crystallization. Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol help in attracting water molecule from food ingredients during its processing. Then Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol is completely taken out from the ingredients.

MCG received a question from a Washington D.C doctor and a professor from Istanbul Turkey providing medical research from text book and medical literature that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication. The Washington D.C .doctor who works at ER department states that he received many poor and homeless patients who drunk by using isopropyl alcohol.

MCG checked couple of medical literature to find out that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication among people.

Based on these medical literature MCG now considers Isopropyl Alcohol as intoxicant and Haram. MCG is also apologize for publishing Isopropyl Alcohol as Halal.

All the information about Isopropyl alcohol has been corrected on MCG 's www.muslimconsumergroup.com and www.canadianhalalfoods.com websites except questions and answers section because it is too large data.

Posted on: 04-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins.

MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins.

MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched that Solgar brnad with Kosher symbol on the package meet the Halal requirements. Vitamin Shoppe store is located in Toronto at:

95 laird drive Leaside Village Toronto  ON,  M4G 3T7 Phone: 4164294957

NewMarket NewMarket East Gwillimbury  ON,  l9n 0a2 Phone: 9058539068

Kosher Vitamins are also available at:

The Maxi Health brand s Maxi Omega 3200 Kosher Fish Oil is made with fish gelatin capsule and it is Halal for Muslims:

Store in Toronto: KOBO at Wilson

Phone numebr: 416-633-8784

Brand Name: Maxi Health

Products name: Maxi's Omega 3200 Kosher Fish Oil Capsule

On our website we have a list of Halal vitamins, Halal Prenatal Vitamins, Halal Fish or Omega Oil and where to buy them. So please search them under Vitamins, Prenatal Vitamins and Fish Oil.

At: www.koshervitamins.com

MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them. Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as:

Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitaminsand Krirkland Signature.

They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package. Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA.

 

Posted on: 03-22-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: WHY CHEETOS AND DORITOS SNACKS ARE NOT HALAL IN CANADA

There is no kosher symbol on the package of Cheetos and Doritos. This makes them Non Halal because they can add any Haram Hidden or Processing aid ingredients without mentioning under the ingredients statement. Cheese used in Cheetos and Doritos are not Kosher certified and not Halal. Sine these products are not under Halal or Kosher certification then Frito Lay can use non kosher certified flavors or colors. There is no restriction for Frito Lay to make Cheetos or Doritos on their own lines or on co-packers line where pork containing products are made. This exposes a great possibility of cross contamination of pork containing ingredients.

All these snacks are very attractive to adults and children but there is a Hadith which says that Allah will not accept your dua for 40 days if a Muslim eats intentionally a bit of Haram food. So MCG recommend Muslims not consume above snacks

Posted on: 03-22-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Saputo brand of cheeses without Kosher symbol are not Halal

Brother Mustafa has provided the information below about Saputo Cheeses.

From: Consumer Relations Representative
Date:01/21/2014 11:23 AM (GMT-05:00)
To: mohamed.mostafa999
Subject: RE: Chesses - Rennet - Lipase - Alcohol
Hello Mr. Mostafa,
Thank you for contacting Saputo Dairy Products Canada G.P. regarding our cheese products.
Our Saputo Mozzarella Cheese and Armstrong Cheddars only have cow’s milk and no other animal products. 
As for our other cheeses please make sure you look at our cheese ingredient lists and if you see rennet, pepsin or lipase listed they are from animals source. Also, we do not use any alcohol in our cheeses.
I appreciate you taking the time to contact us and hope you continue to enjoy our products for years to come!
Have a nice day,

Rose Marie       
Coordonnatrice, relation consommateur - Consumer Relations Coordinator Marketing
Saputo Dairy Products Canada G.P.
2365, Chemin de la Côte-de-Liesse
St-Laurent, Québec, Canada  H4N 2M7

Tel: 1-800-672-8866

consumer@saputo.com

www.saputo.com

Posted on: 01-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nivea products are Mushbooh

New information is provided by a sister from Nivea company:

I have the following information for you sent to me by Nivea in regards to animal derived ingredients.

Ingredients used in the NIVEA range are, wherever possible, from non-animal sources such as vegetable based Glycerin.

However there are specific materials where an effective alternative is not readily available.

Please find these ingredients listed below:

1. Lanolin, Lanolin Oil, Lanolin Alcohol, Glyceryl Lanolate, Cholesterol, Cholesteryl Oleyl Carbonate, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride - derived from Woolwax (from sheep wool).

2. Sodium Tallowate - derived from Tallow (from cattle).

3. PEG-8 Beeswax, Cera Alba (Wax), Mel (Honey) - derived from Wax or honey (from bees).

4. Carboxymethyl Chitin, Ostrea/Oyster shell extract (from crustaceans).

5. Hydrolyzed Silk, Silk Powder - derived from Silk (from silk worms).

6. Hydrolyzed Milk Protein, Sine Adipe Lac, Casein, Yoghurt Powder, Sodium C8-16 Isoalkylsuccinyl, Lactoglobulin Sulfonate - derived from Milk (from cattle).

7. Carmine/CI 75470 (colour) - derived from Cochineal (from beetles).

8. Hydrolyzed Keratin - derived from Keratin (from cashmere goat or sheep wool).

9. Hydrolyzed Pearl - derived from Pearl protein (fresh water pearls). We do not use any egg based ingredients in our products. As formulations do change from time to time, we would recommend that you check the ingredients listing on the product that you wish to use for the ingredients listed above, prior to use. -

Sent to MCG by a sister on 01-06-14 05:59:59

MCG response:

Ingredients from Beewax, Sheep Wool, from silk are Halal.

Red color from Cochineal or Carmine is Haram because all insects are Haram in Islam excpet locust.

Ingredients from non zabiha beef are not Halal.

All dairy based ingredients are Halal only if they are Halal or kosher certified.

Please avoid all those Nivea products if they are made from above ingredients.

Posted on: 01-07-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Please do not buy any Great Value food product without kosher symbol or any Equate personal care product and medicine at Wal-Mart

Wal-Mart buy food and non food products from many differ rent suppliers throughout the country. They do not specify the source of ingredients so the same Great Value food product without Kosher symbol on the package (although all ingredients look Halal) and Equate non food products are made with ingredients having different sources like some from animal source and other with plant source. So there is no guarantee that they are Halal.

Only those Great Value food product with kosher symbol (if they meet Halal requirements) are Halal. All Equate personal care products and on the counter medicine are not Halal for Muslims.

A list of Halal Great Value food products is available on our website.

Posted on: 12-30-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dilemma For Indian Muslim Consumers

The Government of India has notified the food manufacturers through P 15019/14/2004 PH (Food) dated June 29, 2006 regarding compulsory display of Green and Red dots to differentiate between vegetarian and non vegetarian foods respectively.

Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green color on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

All state food authorities in India have been instructed to take necessary action to ensure compliance of above (wwe.greendotter.com).

The following symbols are mandatory:

Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely:

Every package of Non-Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in red colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

But there is problem for Muslim consumers in India a Green dot vegetarian food products although they do not contain animal derived ingredients but it can be made with ethyl alcohol or alcohol containing flavors or alcohol was used during the processing of a vegetarian food ingredient or if made with non Halal vegetarian food ingredient. If this occur then green dotted food product became non Halal for Muslims.

So the green dot containing products are Halal only if no alcohol is used during processing or no alcohol was used in flavor as a solvent or no alcohol was used  during processing of vegetarian ingredients or if they made with only Halal ingredients.

For example if a green dotted food product was made with Carrageenan, a Mushbooh ingredient and also it is a vegetarian food gum but ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol or Potassium Chloride ornothing is used to crystallized the Carrageenan during its processing.

If ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol was used then carrageenan became non Halal. If Potassium Chloride or nothing was used then it will become a Halal ingredient. 

There is also problem with Red Dot containing food products for Muslim consumers in India they can be made only with eggs, with no animal derived ingredients were mentioned under ingredients statement. The manufacturer of that product has informed the Muslim consumers that no animal derived ingredients were used as hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product.

So this red dotted food product with eggs, without  animal derived ingredients under ingredients statement and no animal derived hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product became Halal for Muslims because egg is a Halal food ingredient.

MCG advises Indian Muslim consumers to read the ingredients carefully and contact the manufacturer whether they use any animal derived ingredients as hidden or processing aid ingredients in the product. Always write to them whether alcohol was used in any flavor for both Green or Red Dot containing food Products or alcohol was used in food product or in food ingredients.

 



 

 

 

Posted on: 11-17-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Chapman Ice Cream are not Halal

All Chapman'sice cream made with Carrrageenan, Vanilla Extract and alcohol containing flavors are not Halal.

Brother Syed has provided this e-mail from Chapman consumer Service department:

hapman's Website English - Customer Service Inquiry # 18324 Comments: HI, Is ethyl alcohol was used during the processing of Carrageenan. Please find out from your Carrageenan suppliers. Thanks, N Syed. Thank you for contacting us. Our stabilizer/emulsifier supplier stated that alcohol is used in the production of carrageenan, however it is all evaporated off as part of the manufacturing process, and none is presented in the finished product. - 11-07-13 07:08:59

Posted on: 11-16-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Body Shop Cosmetic are not Halal for Muslim sisters

MCG has contacted the Body Shop Company on August 30, 2013 and asked about reference number 63461 a e-mail received from The Body Shop by our sister Mrs. Ajmal and send to MCG (the e-mail is listed below). Beside her, other sisters also requested to inquire about the Halal status of The Body Shop cosmetic.

Recently MCG received a request from The Body Shop to change the status of The Body Shop cosmetic from Non Halal to Halal.

MCG did further investigation and asked The Body Shop whey their employee Milan Zivkovic wrote in reference number 63461 that they use gelatin. The company told MCG on August 30, 2013 that she wrote it wrong and she no longer with the company and said their company is supplying some vegetarian products since 2008. They use some non vegetarian ingredients such as beeswax, Honey, Silk and Cholesterol (which could be from milk or animal fat). The customer service is based in Slovenia in Europe.

There is written contradiction of their claim that some of their products are made with gelatin which could be from pork or beef. We do not know how many products made with pork or beef gelatin are still in the market because the company did not supply us the lot numbers of those products which are made with pork gelatin or beef gelatin

So MCG requests our sisters not use The Body Shop Cosmetic products.

 

From: Web Order <Order@thebodyshop.com>
Date: Wed, Mar 6, 2013 at 4:26 PM
Subject: The Body Shop; Ref: 63461
To: A. Ajmal <
a.ajm@
>

Dear Ms. Ajmal,

 Thank you for contacting The Body Shop online team.

 The Body Shop® is not a vegetarian or vegan company; however the vast majority of our products contain no animal derived ingredients.  We aim to avoid the use of animal-derived ingredients wherever possible and specify non-animal ingredients whenever there is a choice.  All our soaps, for example, use a vegetable base rather than the commonly used animal-fat base.  Gelatin, beeswax, honey, milk, shellac and lanolin are the only product ingredients knowingly used by The Body Shop® which do not comply with the most current definition of Vegan.  Where synthetic forms or derivatives of these materials are available, such as lactic acid, these are always specified for our formulations.  We do not use the ingredient "carmine" in our product formulations.  

With utmost certainty we can tell you that the Raspberry Born Lippy balm is 100% vegan product.

 Should you need further assistance with this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us.  Thank you once again for contacting The Body Shop.  I hope you find the level of service provided to you via this correspondence satisfactory.  If you are not satisfied or need immediate assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Care Center at:  1-800-263-9746.

 Kindest regards,

 Milan Zivkovic

Customer Support Representative - The Body Shop Customer Support | Americas

weborder@thebodyshop.com

 

Posted on: 11-16-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Advill medicine is made with animal derived ingredients

According to Pfizer Canada the Magnesium Stearate in Advil medicine is made with animal fat.

Posted on: 11-06-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Sudafed Sinus Advance Caplets for adult are made with animal derived ingredient

According to Johnson & Johnson Canada with reference number 015902393A9 (Dated November 5, 2013) the adult Sinsus Advance caplets are made with animal derived ingredient.

Posted on: 11-06-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: IOGO brand of Yogurts are not Halal

According to the company their products are not Kosher certified so they can not meet the Halal requirements. All IOGO yogurts are not Halal.

Posted on: 11-05-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

Posted on: 09-24-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Vitamins: What make them Haram or Non Halal

The following factors make Vitamins as Haram or Non Halal:

1. Gelatin:

Gelatin listed under ingredients statement or part of the capsule makes vitamins 

as Haram if gelatin was obtained from pork or Non Halal if it was obtained from non zabiha beef.

Only Fish gelatin is Halal and it should be mentioned under ingredients statement.

The capsules must be made with cellulose to be consider Halal.

2. Magnesium Stearate:

Magnesium Stearate is helps in flowing the other ingredients and is a fat based emulsifier and it could be obtained either from pork fat or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat Magnesium Stearate is consider Halal.

3. Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients:

Every vitamin is made with Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients because FDA allows manufacturer to add a maximum of 2% of formula as Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients. FDA also allows manufacturer not to mentioned under the ingredients statement. The hidden or processing aid ingredients must be from Halal sources.

Halal or Kosher symbol on the vitamins package protects Muslims from added Haram Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients.

4. Coating on Vitamins:

Pharmaceutical glaze, vegetable beet glaze, Shellac, Lac Resin are used to coat the vitamin tablets to protect them from breaking. All glazes are made by dissolving insect secretion Shellac in alcohol and applying the glaze on the tablets. So please do not buy the vitamins with coating.

5. Extracts:

Many source of vitamins are also obtained from plant extracts such as Bioperine (black pepper fruit extract), Tomato Extract (lycopene), Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract and Panax Ginseng Root Extract. They become Non Halal if alcohol was used as a solvent. It is better to avoid those vitamins with extract otherwise you have to call the manufacturer to find out whether alcohol was used as a solvent or not. Most of the time alcohol is used for extraction from plants.

6. Natural Flavor:

Alcohol might be used as a solvent in natural flavor so it is better to avoid consuming vitamins with natural flavors. Majority of natural flavors are made with vanilla. If vanilla is used as a natural flavor then the natural flavor will not be Halal.

7. Chewable Vitamins:

All chewable vitamins specially for kids are made with natural flavor. You have to contact the manufacturer whether alcohol was used as a solvent or not.

8. Ingredients where alcohol was used during its processing and they are added to vitamins:

Alcohol is used during the manufacturing of some ingredients such as Stevia which is a natural sweetener called Steviol Glycol. It is extracted from Stevia plant by water but crystallized it by use of ethyl alcohol.

Posted on: 06-08-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nestle's Indian made Maggi Noodle Soups are not Halal

There are used to be few Maggi Noodle Soups with Vegetarian Green Dot under Square Symbol but that symbol is not on any more on Maggi Noodle Soups.

The ingredients listed on Maggi Noodle Soups look to be Halal but they do not report Hidden Haram Ingredients on the ingredients statement. Then how a Muslim consumers know for sure that there is no pork by product or ethyl alcohol based ingredients are used as a processing aid or Hidden Ingredients.

So MCG decided to assign all Magi Noodles Soups made in India without Halal or Kosher or Vegetarian symbol on the package as NOT HALAL status.

Posted on: 05-02-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Please do not consumed fried fish or fried potatoes if the company or sea food restaurants makes the Beer Battered fried products

Many food companies and restaurants manufacture or serve beer battered fried fish or potatoes products in USA, Canada and Europe.

They use same fryers and same vegetable oil to fry both beer battered fish or potatoes and non beer battered fish or potatoes products.

In seafood restaurants if you see beer battered under menu then please do not order any fried fish such as Red Lobster and other sea food restaurants.

Similarly frozen fried fish and frozen fried potato brands such as Gorton, Van De Kemps, McCain, Or-Ida make frozen beer battered fried fish and fried potato. So non beer battered frozen are contaminated with beer because beer cannot be removed from frying vegetable oil. The oil is recycled to remove only large and small particles of  products left over in the oil. So all their non beer battered fried are contaminated with beer in the batter.

The grilled or broiled frozen fish or potato products are not contaminated with beer. But make sure those products are Halal. A list of Halal frozen broiled or grilled frozen fish and potatoes are listed on our website.

Posted on: 04-21-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Oil of Olay Products are made with pork

The Procter Gamble Company can not give guarantee that it will be pork free, they will use pork by product if other source are not available. The reference number is 15231785 of March 4, 2013.

Posted on: 03-04-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Hershey's E-Mail regarding alcohol used as a processing aid confusing Muslim consumers

MCG wrote this e-mail to clarify their statement regarding alcohol and the consumer department told MCG that they will look and get back to MCG:

Hi Mr. MCguire,
 
Nice to talk to on the phone. The e-mail below is causing lot of confusion among our 8-10 million Muslim consumers who do not consume any food product made with ethyl alcohol. To me the e-mail is missing the "in flavors" after processing agent. Because ethyl alcohol alone never used as a processing aid or hidden ingredient in chocolate and it has no technical effect during processing.
 
If you correct the e-mail this way then our consumer will not have any confusion:
 
" Thank you for contacting Hershey

All the products you mentioned contain vanillin. Our vanillin does not contain alcohol. Alcohol is used as a processing agent in flavors and is removed.

Have a sweet day,

Susan Harris
Consumer Representative"
 
Please forward this suggestion to your QA or Technical or legal department.
 
Rasheed Ahmed
Certified senior Food Scientist
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada (a non profit educational organization)

www.muslimconsumergroup.com
www.canadianhalalfoods.com


 

Posted on: 02-12-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Traces of pork" found in UK prison food served as Halal

Traces of pork" found in UK prison food served as halal
http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2013/feb/01/traces-pork-prison-food-halal/print

Posted on: 02-03-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Ethyl Alcohol is used in Tim Horton's bakery products and also in other products

Br. Syed has provide this information from Tim Horton in Canada:

Dear Mr. Shah, Thank you for taking the time to contact Tim Hortons Head Office with your inquiry. Your request was for information regarding the use of ethyl alcohol as a flavour carrier in our products. Many of our baked goods contain added flavours, which may contain trace amounts of ethyl alcohol. Please note that any alcohol in baked products will evaporate during the baking process. Please note however that ethyl alcohol may be an ingredient in the flavourings for all donut fillings. The alcohol content in the finished product would be trace. We have attached the ingredient list for the French Vanilla Cappuccino for your review. Please note that if natural or artificial flavour is listed, then the product may contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier. We have confirmed that our Iced Capps contain ethyl alcohol as a carrier for the flavours. We have also confirmed that the flavours used in our donuts without fillings do not contain alcohol. Furthermore, at Tim Hortons, we employ trained individuals who review all products (including their ingredient lists) thoroughly to ensure they are safe for our guests to consume. We comply with all government regulations to provide safe and acceptable food items. We hope this information will help to clarify your concerns regarding Tim Hortons products. Please call us on the guest service number at 1-888-601-1616 if you require more information. Yours truly, The TDL Group Corp. Chloe, Guest Services Representative Toll Free: 1-888-601-1616 www.timhortons.com

Posted on: 01-20-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in Ready-To-Drink Starbucks Refreshers and Starbuck's Double Chocolaty Chip Frappuccino is also not Halal

AOA

Br. Syed has suplied the information about presence of alcohol in Ready-To-Drink Starbucks Refreshers. It also contains the non Halal Erythritol a Sugar Alcohol where alcohol is used in precipitation of Erythritol.

Starbuck Double Chocolaty Chip Frappuccino and all other Coffees made with vanilla flavor are not Halal because vanilla is obtained from vanilla beans by use of ethy alcohol. Only non flavored 100% coffee is Halal. 

Posted on: 01-20-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in President Choice Spritz Up

One of our sister has provided this information:

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. Further to your inquiry, there is 0.12 g of alcohol per 250mL of our PC Spritz Up.   Please let me know If I can be of any further assistance.   Maha Halaby Senior Customer Service Representative I Loblaw Companies Limited. - 

 

Posted on: 01-13-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: US probe targets halal food supplier in Iowa

 

RYAN J. FOLEY | November 26, 2012 03:20 PM EST | Associated Press

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The maker of a popular brand of food for observant Muslims says it is facing a potentially crippling investigation into whether it falsely labeled meat products as processed in compliance with Islamic law.

The Midamar Corp. said in federal court documents that investigators seized its main bank account and business records under search warrants executed last month. A judge last week upheld the government's seizure of $454,000 in bank funds and rejected the company's request to return the money.

No criminal or civil charges have been filed, and U.S. District Judge Linda Reade ruled that the government's affidavit supporting its search warrant can remain secret so as not to "compromise an ongoing investigation." The U.S. attorney's office declined comment Monday on the investigation, which involves the U.S. Department of Agriculture and Internal Revenue Service.

Miramar said in court filings that the seizures relate to vague allegations that it improperly branded and sold meat products as meeting Muslim dietary requirements, called halal, when they did not. The privately held business, which has been in Cedar Rapids for 40 years, dismissed the allegations. And it claims federal investigators are trying to regulate something that must be left to religions under the U.S. Constitution's separation of church and state.

"Whether Midamar's meat is in fact halal is a religious question that may not be answered by the U.S. government," company lawyers wrote last month.

Midamar says it was the first major U.S. supplier of halal products after its 1974 founding by Bill Aossey, who declined comment Monday. The company calls itself the leading U.S. halal brand and markets more than 200 products for U.S. and international customers, including beef, turkey and chicken. It largely relies on third-party suppliers for meat that it packages.

Reade ruled that she did not believe the company's constitutional argument was "an appropriate basis to quash a warrant" and is premature because no charges have been filed.

Midamar, which has 70 employees, says it has been unable to access credit needed to maintain its operation and that some business partners have kept a distance since last month's raid became public. It warned in one filing that it could soon have to close its doors.

Reade ruled that Midamar failed to show that the money seizure amounted to shutting down the business. Midamar failed to prove it could not obtain funding from other sources, such as by liquidating assets or taking out personal loans from its executives, she said. The agents' seizure of documents and files also did not prevent the business from operating, Reade ruled, noting investigators returned seized computers within a week.

Rasheed Ahmed, president of the Muslim Consumer Group for Food Products, a watchdog group in Huntley, Ill., said cheating is common in the marketing of halal meat, which is supposed to be killed in ritual slaughter. Some companies label routinely processed "supermarket meat" as halal, he said.

Ahmed said he was not aware of the investigation or Midamar's practices but that he would be interested in the case's outcome. "A lot of consumers buy from them," he said.

Midamar says the matter does not involve food safety. Still, its lawyers made public a letter from USDA that noted the agency stopped voluntary inspections at the firm in 2010, after seizing what it called misbranded meat products, before resuming them last year. Such inspections are done at Midamar's request to ensure their products meet requirements for export.

Investigators seized thousands of pounds of beef products that came from an establishment not approved for export to a foreign country and found falsified export documents for shipments to Indonesia and Malaysia, among other problems, according to the letter.

USDA's Food Safety and Inspection Service resumed inspections after approving Midamar's "corrective and preventive measures," the letter says.

 

Posted on: 11-26-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: FDA: 5 reported deaths with Monster energy drink link

FDA today reported 5 deaths with Monster Energy Drink link. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration says it's investigating reports of five deaths and a non-fatal heart attack linked to highly caffeinated Monster Energy Drinks.

Monster Drink is not considered as Halal because it has no Halal or Kosher symbol on the package. MCG has contacted the manufacturer and they told MCG that ingredients they used are not Halal. MCG recommend Muslims to stay away from Monster Energy Drink.

Posted on: 10-22-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Wrigley Chewing Gums are not Halal including those which are made with without animal derived ingredients and alcohol

Wrigley chewing gums made with no animal derived ingredients without alcohol in flavor are not Halal. Because the Wrigley Company wrote to MCG that "because they are both(Chewing Gums without any animal derived ingredients, no alcohol in flavor and pork gelatin containing gums manufactured in the same facility and same line, there is always a chance for cross contamination." MCG is considered them as Not Halal.

Posted on: 10-22-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Kuwait company's license revoked over imported sausages laced with pig fat

 

Kuwait company's license revoked over imported sausages laced with pig fat

According to Gulf News, a Kuwaiti company that sold imported chicken sausages containing pig fat in Ramadan had its mandatory health license revoked, a municipality official has said.

Mohammad Gazzai Al Utaibi, deputy director general of municipality services affairs, said that the company’s sale point in the Shwaikh area was also closed down for breaking the rules.

“We have a zero-tolerance policy towards those who break the rules and harm public interest,” he said, quoted by local Arabic daily Al Watan on Wednesday. “The municipality is closely monitoring the sale of food stuff to ensure it passes the laboratory tests and fully complies with the required safety standards.”

However, Al Utaibi did not wish to name the company that came under fire from people for selling the pig fat-laced sausages. A Kuwaiti company that sold imported chicken sausages containing pig fat in Ramadan had its mandatory health license revoked, a municipality official has said.

 “We have a zero-tolerance policy towards those who break the rules and harm public interest,” he said, quoted by local Arabic daily Al Watan on Wednesday. “The municipality is closely monitoring the sale of food stuff to ensure it passes the laboratory tests and fully complies with the required safety standards.”

However, Al Utaibi did not wish to name the company that came under fire from people for selling the pig fat-laced sausages.

By Habib Toumi Bureau Chief

Published: 11:47 September 5, 2012

Gulf News

 

Posted on: 09-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol was detected in Coke and 7 UP

                              Alcohol was detected in Coke and 7 UP

Muslim Consumer Group was getting a lot of inquiries about the French study of finding the presence of alcohol in European Coke and Pepsi. MCG sent the samples to Northland Lab in Northfield, IL to use a more sophisticated  method of Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method than French's Headspace Gas Chromatography-Flame Ionization Detection (HS-GC-FID) method which cannot quantify the amount of Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol.

MCG sent unopened Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP bottles to Northland lab to perform alcohol test by using Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method. This method can detect amount of alcohol at least 0.001% or 10 Part Per Million or 10 milligram per liter or more. But this method can't detect less than 0.001% of alcohol.

MCG has paid over $1200 to perform these analysis for Muslim consumers in USA.

The alcohol level in Coke was 0.0059 or 59 PPM as reported by Northland Lab.

The 7 UP has shown higher level of alcohol of 0.048% or 480 PPM.

Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

1818 Skokie Blvd.

Northbrook, IL 60062 Tel: (847)272-8700

www.northlandlabs.com Fax: (847)272-2348

Date Received: 07/09/2012

Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

Start Date: 07/09/2012

Due Date: 07/30/2012

 

Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

AD62895 COKE

CODE: SEP 1712MDA, NET

WEIGHT: 20 FL. OZ

SD SOFT DRINK

Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

Provided

DL Method Reference

 

Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol = 59 PPM USP 35

 

Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 33.5 deg C

AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

IDPH #17501

Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

1818 Skokie Blvd.

Northbrook, IL 60062 Tel: (847)272-8700

www.northlandlabs.com Fax: (847)272-2348

Date Received: 07/09/2012

Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

Start Date: 07/09/2012

Due Date: 07/30/2012

 

Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

AD62896 7 UP

CODE: E2137HB1408, NET

WEIGHT: 20 FL. OZ

SD SOFT DRINK

Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

Provided

DL Method Reference

 

Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol = 480 PPM USP 35

 

Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 34.0 deg C

AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

IDPH #17501

 

 

Posted on: 07-25-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: UK: Muslim scholars reject machine slaughtered meat as Halal

Courtesy of www.halalfocus.com Date June 27, 2012

Filed in Europe, Halal Integrity, Meat & Poultry, Retail, UK on 27/06/2012 with no comments

By Naumaan Farooq, Asian Express

After scholars unanimously rejected machine slaughtered meat as being halal, calls have been made for a top fast food outlet to stop mislabelling its chicken ‘halal.’

Around 40 of the country’s leading Islamic Scholars have called on fast food giant KFC to stop selling their meat as halal which they say is slaughtered using machines.

At a conference at the Hijaz Centre, Nuneaton some of the countries most respected Imams passed a vote saying machine slaughtered chickens were not halal because the prescribed holy words needed to be said on each individual bird.

July last year, KFC had 92 ‘halal’ outlets in the UK and many Muslims now feel their food is not killed in accordance with the proper Islamic method. The issue is whether meat can be halal if it has been slaughtered using mechanical methods which scholars said was not allowed.

Traditionally, halal meat is killed by hand and must be blessed by the person doing the job. But some Muslims say a mechanised form is also now acceptable.

Speaking at the conference one of the scholars said: “Machine slaughter of animals is totally not allowed in Islam. The prescribed holy words should be said on every animal and not just one.

“Here we have a scenario when one person just flicks a switch and hundreds of chickens die, that’s not Islamic.”

Halal is the description of food and drink Muslims are allowed to consume under Islamic dietary laws defined in the Quran and in the sayings of the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).

Classifying of halal food can only be carried out by a Muslim expert in the laws.

The meat is traditionally prepared by slaughtering the animal with a quick cut to the throat with a sharp knife to allow all blood to drain out, the idea being that the meat is cleaner. The slaughterman is required to say the traditional proclamation of faith in one god as the animal is killed.

At present two separate organisations regulate the halal food industry in the UK. The Halal Food Authority (HFA) says using machines is OK, as long as the meat is still blessed. It argues that advances in technology mean methods have to change and though a machine does the killing, the meat is still blessed by a Muslim slaughterman.

But the Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC) says animals should be slaughtered by hand and using a machine is not halal and not permissible. It argues mechanisation contradicts a fundamental principle of halal – that the person who slaughters the animal is the same person who recites the words over it.

KFC says it is following the guidance offered by what it considers a reputable adviser.

At a meeting with the fast food outlet’s representatives two years ago it was confirmed to the Lancashire Council for Mosques that KFC’s chickens were stunned and mechanically slaughtered

The sub group expressed concerns about the mechanical slaughtering of animals and told KFC that the Muslim Council of Britain supported their position.

The meeting concluded that KFC’s Halal Supply Chain did not fulfil the LCM Halal criteria and therefore cannot be termed as halal.

Naved Syed, Member of Eblex Halal Steering Group and responsible for organising the conference in Nuneaton said: “We need to resolve this matter as quickly as possible.

“The problem with machine slaughter is you cannot perform Tasmiah (Holy prayer) on each animal when you machine killing 20,000 chickens an hour.

“All of these issues need to be addressed especially on the subject of machine slaughter by the religious authorities.

“With over 40 Muftis and Imams having made the decision it will enable us to lay the foundation for halal here in the UK.

“With Ramadan just around the corner this problem needs to be resolved as quickly as possible.”

Speaking in a recent interview Yunus Dudhwala, chairman of HMC, said: “Halal is a very sacred part of a Muslim’s diet and many Muslims do not even know what they are eating when it’s certified as halal in this way.”

Make sure you follow this story on www.asianexpress.co.uk <http://www.asianexpress.co.uk/>

Naumaan Farooq
Senior Reporter, Asian Express Newspapers

www.asianexpress.co.uk <http://www.asianexpress.co.uk/>

Posted on: 07-12-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: French Study about presence of Alcohol in Coke and Pepsi

Muslim Consumer Group has asked Northland Lab Northbrook, IL in April 2011 to perform alcohol test on Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP by using Gas Chromatography a official AOAC method. The limit on that method is 0.05% or 500 PPM.  The Northland Lab detected no alcohol above 0.05% so they reported less than 0.05% and in layman term it is consider zero.

MCG is trying to find out what method of analysis used by National Institute of Consumption (INC). When we found out that method than we will ask a US lab to perform the alcohol test on same instrument.

This a scientific fact that if a flavor obtained from natural source such as fruits or vegetables, alcohol is naturally developed during ripening process of fruits and vegetables. This minute of alcohol in ripe fruits and vegetables is consider Halal.

There is a published in a book that birds get daisy when they consumed ripe grapes. Since coke and Pepsi are made with Natural Flavor, so it is possible that alcohol detection may be due to presence of alcohol in natural products.

Cola Sold in US/Canada are different from sold in Europe

The presence of other “controversial” ingredients such as phosphoric acid or ammonia-sulfite caramel E150D food coloring were present, the latter of which is listed as carcinogenic in California. The cola companies changed their recipes after the discovery in California but have no plans of doing so for Europe(http://english.alarabiya.net/articles/2012/06/28/223293.html).

Coke and Pepsi companies sale only concentrates to bottling companies then those bottling companies add sweeteners and water. These concentrates are slightly different from country to country compare to concentrates in USA.

Since Northland Lab did not find out the minute amount of alcohol, MCG will consider Coke and Pepsi as Halal until we analyze Coke and Pepsi on same instrument used by Paris, France based Institute of Consumption (INC).

Posted on: 07-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gatorade is made with Alcohol containing flavor

Submitted by Aneel Khan to MCG:

From: ConsumerRelations@cr.gatorade.com
To: sa@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: Gatorade Thirst Quencher , REF.# 027242673B
Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2010 16:15:14 -0400

Gatorade Consumer:

Gatorade may contain traces amount of alcohol as a formulation aid for the flavorings. But in the processing, these trace amounts are evaporated off in the heating process.

We hope this information is helpful.

Michael
Gatorade Consumer Relations
Ref# 027242673B

Posted on: 04-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nucleotide in Infant Baby Formula is not Halal

 

NUCLEOTIDES IN INFANT BABY FORMULAS ARE NOT HALAL ACCORDING TO MCG'S CRITERIA

 

Nucleotides are composed of nucleobase (nitrogenous base), a five-carbon sugar (either ribose or 2'- deoxyribose), and one to three phosphate groups. Nucleotide is made of three functional groups: a nucleic acid base, a sugar, and a phosphate. It is a structural building block of RNA and DNA.

Nucleotide which is also known as Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate. These nucleotides are obtained from Turula yeast cell's RNA. Ethyl Alcohol is provided as nutrients to Turula yeast cells to multiply in millions.

MCG has asked this question to Nucleotides manufacturer company:

" Use of ethyl alcohol during the manufacturing of Nucleotide"

Here is their answer we received today:

 " The answer to your question is we do use alcohol for a nutrient source for the yeast. As for in the actual powder there is very little residual. If you have any other questions please let me know."

Use of alcohol to feed the Torula yeast make the Torula yeast as not Halal based MCG's criteria for Halal. Alcohol goes inside the cells of Torula yeast for its growth.

MCG 's ulema said if any Halal thing get in contact with alcohol that Halal thing became not Halal. The manufacturer of Nucleotide also has the opportunity to use Halal sugar can to grow the Torula yeast but they preferred to use alcohol.

Based on MCG's criteria any infant baby formula containing nucleotides or Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate is not consider Halal.

Nucleotides were not used in infant baby formulas 5 years back but due to a publication of a Harvard medical research indicating nucleotide in infant baby formulas is to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea, increase the immune system of babies and prevent babies from diarrhea.

There are 21 infant baby formulas in USA which are Halal because they do not use nucleotides or Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate.

They are available at US supermarkets and Wal-Mart:

1. Parent's Choice(Wal-Mart brand) Infant Formula Added Rice Starch for 0-12 months babies

2. Meijer Baby Milk based Nutrition for baby first year Added Rice Starch Infant Formula with Iron Lipids

3. Meijer Baby Milk based Nutrition for baby first year Gentle Protein Infant Formula with iron Lipids

4. Baby Basic Milk based Formula with Iron for older infant 9-24 months Lipids DHA & ARA

5. Enfamil Pros bee Soy Infant Formula with Iron for 0-12 months babies

6. Enfamil A. R. Lipil For Spit up Infant Milk based Formula with Iron

7. Enfamil Gentlease Milk based Infant Formula with Iron

8. Similac Isomil DF Soy formula for Diarrhea

9. Similac Sensitive Isomil Soy Formula for Fussiness and Gas

9. Walgreen Soy based Infant Formula with Iron

10. Walgreen Infant Formula Gentle with Iron for Fussiness & Gas 0-12 months babies

11. Enfagrow Premium Toddler

12. Enfamil Premium Next Step Lipil for 10-36 months babies

13. Enfamil A. R. for Spit up for new born 0-12 months babies

14. Enfamil A. R. Lipil Milk based with Iron for Spit up

15. Enfamil Rest Full 0-12 months babies

16. Enfamil For Bedtime Feeds milk based Formula with Iron 0-12 months babies

17. Mom To Mom Toddler Formula

18. Mom To Mom Soy Infant Formula with Iron

19. Meijer Toddler Formula with Iron

20. Parent Choice(Wal-Mart brand) Gentle for Fussiness & Gas for 0-12 months babies

21. Parent Choice(Wal-Mart brand) Soy based Infant Formula for 0-12 months babies

 

The following 8 Halal baby formulas are available in Canadian supermarkets:

 

A + Infant Formula

Baby Foods

Enfapro

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Advance Infant Formula with Omega 3-6

Baby Foods

Isomil

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Follow Up Transition Infant Formula

Baby Foods

Nestle

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Gentlease Infant Formula A +

Baby Foods

Enfamil

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Organic Infant Soy Formula

Baby Foods

President's Choice

 

Loblaw's Supermarket

Soy Based Infant Formula

Baby Foods

Isomil

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Soy Infant Formula

Baby Foods

President's Choice

 

Real Canadian Superstore

Soy Infant Formula 0-12 months

Baby Foods

President's Choice

 

Real Canadian Superstore

 

Posted on: 12-17-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Tim Horton's Chocolate Chip Muffins are not Halal

One of our Muslim consumer has provided this e-mail from Tim Horton:

I received confirmation from Tim Hortons that their chocolate chip muffins contain ethyl alcohol. Here is their email response: Dear Usman, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us at our Head Office. At Tim Hortons we strive to offer all of our guests friendly and efficient service, high quality products in a clean and pleasant atmosphere. Thank you for your patience. After our investigation, we have confirmed that the chocolate chip muffins do contain ethyl alcohol in the artificial vanilla flavour. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Best Regards, The TDL Group Corp. Kelly, Guest Services Representative Toll Free: 1-888-601-1616

 

Posted on: 12-10-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wonka Candies are not Halal because it is made with alcohol containing flavors.

Brother Sayed Murad has sent this information:

This isn't a question, but i wanted to say that Wonka candies are not halal. I recently called them and asked if they have alcohol in their candy. They said they do add alcohol but its not detectable in the final product.

Posted on: 12-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: FluMist contains Pork Gelatin

One of our Muslim consumer has supplied this information for benefit of Muslims in USA and Canada.

Each dose of flumist contains 10 6.5-7.5 particles of live, attenuated influenza virus. That means that between 10 million and 100 million viral particles will be forcefully injected into the nostrils when administered. The viral strain was developed by serial passage through "specific pathogen-free primary chick kidney cells" and then grown in "specific pathogen-free eggs." That means that the culture media was free of pathogens that were specifically tested for, but not a culture that was necessarily "pathogen-free."  Each dose of flumist contains

0.188 mg monosodium glutamate, (http://www.msgtruth.org/ ) 2.00 mg hydrolyzed porcine gelatin,( Porcine gelatin, or pork gelatin, is made from the leftover parts of a pig after slaughter, and is used in many products as a stabilizer.)  2.42 mg arginine, 13.68 mg sucrose, 2.26 mg dibasic potassium phosphate, 0.96 mg monobasic potassium phosphate (a buffering agent) that can cause "CAUSE IRRITATION TO SKIN, EYES, AND RESPIRATORY TRACT. MAY BE HARMFUL IF SWALLOWED OR INHALED." (from MSDS) , and <0.015 mcg/mL gentamicin sulfate which is an antibiotic."

Source: Internet
 

Posted on: 12-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Columbia Sportswear 's Leather Shoes are made with pork skin

One of our Muslim consumer brother Zayd has provided this e-mail so that Muslims in USA and Canada should aware odf use of pork skin in leather shoes.

Hi Zayd,

Thank you for your interest in our footwear.

All of our shoes contain pig-leather unless it states otherwise.

Thanks for your inquiry.

Rosemarie
Columbia Sportswear
Customer Care

Posted on: 12-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: FluMist contains Pork Gelatin

One of our Muslim consumer has supplied this information for benefit of Muslims in USA and Canada.

Each dose of flumist contains 10 6.5-7.5 particles of live, attenuated influenza virus. That means that between 10 million and 100 million viral particles will be forcefully injected into the nostrils when administered. The viral strain was developed by serial passage through "specific pathogen-free primary chick kidney cells" and then grown in "specific pathogen-free eggs." That means that the culture media was free of pathogens that were specifically tested for, but not a culture that was necessarily "pathogen-free."  Each dose of flumist contains

0.188 mg monosodium glutamate, (http://www.msgtruth.org/ ) 2.00 mg hydrolyzed porcine gelatin,( Porcine gelatin, or pork gelatin, is made from the leftover parts of a pig after slaughter, and is used in many products as a stabilizer.)  2.42 mg arginine, 13.68 mg sucrose, 2.26 mg dibasic potassium phosphate, 0.96 mg monobasic potassium phosphate (a buffering agent) that can cause "CAUSE IRRITATION TO SKIN, EYES, AND RESPIRATORY TRACT. MAY BE HARMFUL IF SWALLOWED OR INHALED." (from MSDS) , and <0.015 mcg/mL gentamicin sulfate which is an antibiotic."

Source: Internet
 

Posted on: 10-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Problem with FD&C Yellow Number 5, FD&C Red Number 40

 

Problem with FD&C Yellow Number 5, FD&C Red number 40 and other FD&C colors in Non Food Products 

Red 40 & Yellow 5 are chemical dyes and they are Halal if used as powder or granular forms but if they have to use in liquid form then vegetable oil or glycerin is added as a solvent. Glycerin can be made from pork or beef or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat based glycerin is Halal.

A Halal or kosher symbol such as U or K  on any food package containing red 40 or yellow 5 indicates that either Red 40 or Yellow 5 is used either as a dry powder or if it is used as in liquid form in the product then vegetable oil or vegetable fat based glycerin was used as a solvent.

FD&C artificial colors are used in many on the counter medicine and skin care products but these products do not have Halal or kosher symbol on the package. The problems comes when consumer department of these products do not state that they are not made with animal derived ingredients.

As mentioned above that if non food products are made with dry ingredients such as tablets or caplets then the FD&C colors has to be used in dry powder or granular form then FD&C colors are Halal in tablets or caplets but if they use with liquid ingredients such as water, High Fructose Corn Syrup such as in cough  drops or liquid cough medicine then they have to make the FD&C colors in liquid forms otherwise they will form lump. If vegetable oil is used as a solvent or hidden ingredient for FD&C colors then it is Halal but if glycerin is used then it could be from pork fat or beef fat or soy fat. Vegetable oil or glycerin is the hidden ingredient of the FD&C liquid colors. Since there is no Halal or kosher symbol on the package, everything depend upon the answers from consumer department of the company. Many 800 numbers operators do not know that the liquid FD&C colors contain hidden ingredient. Some time without checking they give wrong answer such as there is no vegetable oil or glycerin in the products. So Muslim consumers has to educate these 800 number operators or consumer affairs department.

Kraft Foods USA recently bought the Cadbury Adam company both in USA and  Canada which sells Halls cough drops. The old Cadbury Adam was telling the consumers with reference number 001238038A dated 01/2010 that there is no animal derived ingredients used in Halls cough drops. Now Kraft Foods in USA is not claiming that Halls drops are free from animal derived ingredients. Either they do not have the knowledge or may change the source of FD&C colors in Halls cough drops. MCG has written a request to find out the answer but so far they did not answer. So Halls Cough Drops in USA are now Mushbooh. Vicks' Menthol Cough Drops do not use any animal derived ingredients and do not contain alcohol. This cough drops can be used instead of Halls Cough Drops.

In Canada Kraft Foods told MCG that if Halls Cough Drops are made with FD&C Yellow Number 5 and FD&C Yellow Number 6 colors then there is no animal derived ingredients are used that means either they use vegetable oil or Soy fat based glycerin as hidden ingredients in liquid FD&C Yellow Numbers 5 and liquid FD&C Yellow Number 6 colors.

But if Halls Cough Drops in Canada are made with FD&C Blue Number 2 and FD&C Red Number 40 colors then they used animal derived hidden ingredient in liquid FD&C Blue Number 2 and liquid FD&C Red Number 40 colors which has to be either from pork fat based glycerin or beef fat based glycerin as a hidden ingredients in FD&C colors.

MCG request Muslim consumers to be careful about hidden ingredients in liquid FD&C colors in Non Food Products.

Posted on: 06-20-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in Betty Crocker Cake Mixes

 

A Canadian Muslim consumers has sent us the e-mail from General Food regarding the use of alcohol in flavors in the following Betty Crocker's cake mixes:

Butter Pecan Cake Mix

Butter Recipe Chocolate Cake Mix

Butter Recipe  Yellow Cake Mix

Chocolate Fudge Cake Mix

Devil's Food Cake Mix

French Vanilla Cake Mix

German Chocolate Cake Mix

Golden Vanilla Cake Mix

Milk Chocolate Cake Mix

Party Rainbow Chip Cake Mix

Vanilla Cake Mix

White Cake Mix

Yellow Cake Mix

SuperMoist Cake Mix (DISC) Fudge Marble 517g, UPC: 006563310060

 

Posted on: 06-01-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Following Medicine are made with beef

 

The Following Medicine Products are made with Non Zabiha Beef

The following medicne product from Pfizer is made with Non Zabiha beef fat:

1. Dimetapp (made with non zabiha beef fat stearic acid)

2. Adult Advil (made with non zabiha beef fat stearic acid and non zbaiha beef gelatin)

3. Nytol- Nytol Tablets 25mg, Nytol Extra Strength 50mg and Nytol Caplets Extra Strength - contain animal derivatives - stearic acid and anhydrous lactose (bovine). Nytol Quick Gel contains gelatin and glycerin (bovine). Nytol Natural Source contains magnesium stearate (bovine).

4. Maalox's Regular Liquid Antacid 

Posted on: 05-13-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Important things to know about Halal Foods

 

Important Things To Know About Halal Foods

1. Halal Fruit Cocktail:

If a canned fruit cocktail contains colored cherries then it may be not be Halal if no kosher symbol on the can. How come cherries are not Hala because they are artificially colored by using artificial liquid color with a carrier or solvent which could be glycerin or vegetable oil. If glycerin is used as a solvent then it could be obtained from pork fat or beef or vegetable fat. If vegetable oil is used in color then it is Halal. How Muslims can be protected from consuming pork fat based glycerin? Buying fruit cocktail which do not have colored cherries or a kosher symbol on the fruit cocktail can which indicates no animal fat based glycerin was used.

2. Rice Pilaf:

Many restaurants offer rice pilaf as a side dish for broiled or grilled fish dinner. Almost every restaurants in US and Canada used non zabiha chicken broth to boiled rice and allowed rice to absorbed it. So always avoid rice pilaf but you can request steamed rice which is a Halal rice.

3. Fried Fish:

Many fish restaurants offer variety way of making fish items one of them is frying the coated fish. Here are two problems, one they also fried beer battered fish in the same oil and fryer. Second the coatings on the fish may be made with non Halal whey and other dairy ingredients. So always avoid consuming fried fish. You can order fish to be broiled or grilled with AA butter with salt & pepper. Please do not ask them to put any sauce such as dill sauce on the broiled or grilled fish because it may not be Halal.

4. Salad:

Please avoid cheese, croutons on salad. Request them not to add bacon bits to the salad. Many Salad dressings are not Halal so please use oil and lemon juice as your dressing.

5. Dessert:

Unless if it is a known Halal brand of ice cream if they are serving, please avoid desserts at the restaurants.

6. Baked Potato:

Please avoid using sour cream on baked potato because sour cream may contain pork gelatin just ask to provide AA butter.

Posted on: 04-19-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Is Alcohol free beer or wine Halal to consume, the answer is no

 

IS ALCOHOL FREE BEER OR WINE HALAL TO CONSUME, THE ANSWER IS NO

All alcohol free beer, wine, champion are not made from scratch but they are all made from real beer, wine and champion. In Islamic fiqah such as tabdeele Mahiya does not applied to alcohol free beer and wine because Tabdeele Mahiya has specific requirements to apply to Haram product to become Halal  such as converting alcohol a Haram ingredient to vinegar a Halal ingredient.

 In the case of alcohol free beer or wine no such thing happened, there is no chemical reaction, there is no name change which are few requirements of Tabdeele Mahiya. Production of alcohol free beer or wine is 100% based on physical action i.e. removing only alcohol from beer or wine without touching any other components of beer or wine. In USA, FDA requirements of alcohol free beer or wine must contains not more than 0.5% alcohol by volume or Dealcoholised: over 0.05% but less than 0.5% ABV(Alcohol By Volume). So all alcohol free beer from USA in Muslim countries contains a maximum of 0.5% Alcohol by ABV. This 0.5% is the result of alcoholic fermentation of sugars by yeast the principle used in making alcoholic beverages. This alcohol is the part of alcohol present in real beer and wine. Intoxicants were defined by our Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum when he said in the authentic hadith that was reported by Abu Da’wwod and Al Tirmithi: whatever a lot of it intoxicates a person, little of it is forbidden. In the above hadith there is no mention of amount or number of serving of getting intoxicated by consuming little amount of intoxicant in a product which contains little amount of intoxicant. So consuming number of cans of alcohol free beer is irreverent. The basic point is the large or little amount of intoxicant is Haram and alcohol is a intoxicant.  

 Alcohol content in Alcohol free beer or wine disqualify to consume based on the above hadith. There is no way any company in USA or anywhere can eliminate completely 100% alcohol from a beer or wine used by vacuum processing or using micro filter system to remove alcohol from beer or wine as they currently used in alcohol free beer or wine industry. What about rest of component of beer or wine. It remains as is, nothing happened to them. Alcohol free beer has the same volatile compounds as in original beer or wine. The purpose of alcohol free beer or wine is to maintain similar characteristic including taste, smell as in real beer or wine. All components of intoxicant are Haram because they are not present in original grape for grape wine or original cereals for beer made from cereals. All the components of beer or wine are the by-product of alcoholic fermentation of sugar content of grape or cereal by yeast.

 So it is in the opinion of MCG that alcohol free beer or wine is not Halal to consume by Muslim.

 

Posted on: 02-21-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Tim Horton Donuts and Bagels are not Halal

  TIM HORTON DONUTS, BAGELS AND OTHER BAKERY PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL BECAUSE OF CROSS CONTAMINATION

We have research extensively with Tim Horton consumer department, Nutrition/ Regulatory department and thoroughly researched the ingredients of Donuts, Bagels and other bakery products and found many products are kosher certified and meet Halal requirements. But Tim Horton Company cannot guarantee about the Halal and kosher status of their products. They said that the products with kosher status loosed its status when they prepared at store which uses pork and other meat. Donuts and all bakery products came to stores as frozen then they baked on the sheet in the oven.

Posted on: 01-22-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Probiotic Bacteria and Yeast

 PROBIOTICS

 

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and World Health Organization (WHO) in 2002 define probotics live microorganisms which when administered in adequate amounts confer a benefit on the host.

Probotics are friendly bacteria and yeast to our digestive system by improving imbalances in our digestive system and provide health benefit not nutrition. Certain species of Bifidobacterium or Lactobacillus bacteria are probiotic. Starter culture bacteria for cheese and yogurt are Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. In addition Lactobacillus acidophilus and Streptococcus lactose are added to yogurts. These bacteria active until yogurt is consume but in cheese the cheese curd is cooked from 90 to 176 F depend upon the type of cheese so they may  or may be active when cheese is consumed.

Saccharomyces cerevisiae var. boulardii is the only known probiotic yeast.

Acetate, l(+)-lactate, ethyl alcohol, and formate are end products of fermentation of probiotics Bifidobacterium on glucose, lactose, galactose, mannitol, and xylose.

Whereas during fermentation of yogurt lactic acid, acetic acid, diacetyl and acetaldehyde are formed and they are all Halal.

Yakult is dairy fermented drink containing probiotics bacteria in USA manufactured by a Japanese Yakult Honsha Co., Ltd company based in California.

Although probiotic bacteria and yeast are good bacteria and yeast providing health benefit but they perform alcoholic fermentation where as no alcoholic fermentation happened during yogurt processing. So MCG recommend Halal yogurts over fermented dairy drinks using probiotic bacteria.

MCG consider fermentation of Probiotics bacteria and yeast is not Halal because of production of alcohol and presence of alcohol in small amount in Probiotics fermented dairy drinks. This is similar to Kefir which contains acid and small amount alcohol and naturally brewed soy sauce which contains 2-3% alcohol.

Posted on: 01-21-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Maltlevol 12 Multiviatamins is a Haram product

  MULTLEVOL 12 A LIQUID MULTIVITAMINS IS A HARAM PRODUCTS

Multlevol 12 a liquid multivitamins is a Haram product because it is made with Haram Sherry Wine.

Posted on: 01-16-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Pork Fat is used in Canadian Avon Products

NON ZABIHA BEEF OR LAMB FAT IS  USED IN AVON'S MAKEUP PRODUCTS 

Only Non Zabiha beef or lamb fat is used in AVON's makeup products. No pork fat is used in AVON products according to an e-mail from Canadian AVON Company. 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork Fat is used in some Nutragena Makeup Products

 PORK FAT IS USED IN SOME OF NUTRAGENA MAKEUP PRODUCTS

Muslims sisters are advice to stay away from Nutragena makeup products because some of their products are made with pork fat.

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork Fat in Olay and Oil of Olay Products

    PORK FAT AND NON ZABIHA BEEF FAT ARE USED IN ALL OLAY AND OIL OF OLAY SKIN CARE PRODUCTS 

It was confirmed by contacting with Procter & Gamble Company that Olay and Oil of Olay products are made with pork fat and non zabiha beef fat. 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork Fat in Cover Girl's Makeup Products

   PORK FAT IN COVER GIRL'S MAKEUP PRODUCTS

Cover Girl makeup products are made with pork fat or beef fat or vegetable fat because Procter & Gamble has informed MCG that they cannot guarantee that their makeup products are free from pork fat because they buy raw material whatever available at the time of year. 

Posted on: 12-25-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dare's Real Fruit Gummies are Haram

 DARE'S REAL FRUIT GUMMIES ARE HARAM

A Canadian Muslim consumer has provided this information that Dare's Real Fruit Gummies are made with pork gelatin.

Posted on: 12-07-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: WHIPPED LIGHTNING IS HARAM

 

WHIPPED LIGHTNING IS HARAM

Maple Grove Products Atlanta, Georgia is selling Alcohol infused Whipped Cream under Whipped Lightning as a product name. They said the Whipahol is a specialty distilled spirits made with grain neutral spirits, cream, natural & artificial flavors and natural and artificial colored. It has more alcohol than a beer according to MSNBC.

Muslims should not be confused with regular whipped Cream, it is selling for $10 per canister.

 

Posted on: 12-04-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Duncan Hines Cakes & Bakery Mixes contain Alcohol in Flavors

 

DUNCAN HINES CAKE AND BAKERY MIXES ARE MADE WITH ALCOHOL CONTAINING FLAVORS

Even as dry cake and Bakery mixes from Duncan Hines brand are made with alcohol containing flavors according to an e-mail from Pinnacle Food Company with refernce number 9089760 send to a Canadian Muslim consumer. 
 

Posted on: 09-15-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: The Following Compliments Products are made with Alcohol Containing Flavors

 

THE FOLLOWING COMPLIMENTS PRODUCTS ARE MADE WITH ALCOHOL CONTAINING FLAVORS

1. Carrot Muffins, UPC CODE 68820 12131

Is alcohol used as a solvent in flavors, alcohol is a hidden ingredient in flavors? Yes
 
2.Banana Muffins UPC CODE 68820 12129
 
Is alcohol used as a solvent in flavors, alcohol is a hidden ingredient in flavors? Yes 
 
3.Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins UPC CODE 23682 10508

Is alcohol used as a solvent in flavors, alcohol is a hidden ingredient in flavors? Yes 
 
4.Chocolate Chip Muffins, UPC CODE 68820 12132

Is alcohol used as a solvent in flavors, alcohol is a hidden ingredient in flavors? Yes

This information was received by a Canadian Muslim consumer through e-mail from Sobey Company with reference number SR0000000254678  

Posted on: 09-15-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Question to ask or write about alcohol in flavor of a food product

 

QUESTION TO ASK OR WRITE ABOUT ALCOHOL IN FLAVOR OF A FOOD PRODUCT

We request Muslim consumers to use the following phrase when asking or writing the question to consumer department of a food company about presence or absence of alcohol in the flavor of a food product.

" is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to QA or Technical service department that  has access to the specification of flavors, not the customer service. In the specification of flavor, the flavor supplier supposed to write the name of solvent or carrier used in a flavor by law. So please request them to find out from QA or Technical service department whether alcohol a hidden ingredient in flavor is used as a solvent in the flavor".

Posted on: 08-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Grape Skin Extract and Grape Seed Extract are not Halal

 

GRAPE SKIN EXTRACT, GARPE SEED EXTRACT, JAPANESE KNOTWEED EXTRACT ARE NOT HALAL IF ALCOHOL IS USED AS EXTRACTING SOLVENT

Resveratrol from red wine is used in grape skin extract and grape seed extract, Resveratrol is not Halal because it comes from red wine. Ethanol and water is also used in grape skin extract which is not Halal. Resveratol and ethanol based solvents are used in Japanese knotwood extarct.

Posted on: 08-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gatorade is not Halal

 

 ALCOHOL CONTAINING FLAVOR IS USED IN GATORADE

Gatorade Company has send this e-mail to one of our Muslim consumer.

Gatorade Consumer:

Gatorade may contain traces amount of alcohol as a formulation aid for the flavorings. But in the processing, these trace amounts are evaporated off in the heating process.

We hope this information is helpful.

Michael
Gatorade Consumer Relations
Ref# 027242673B


 

Posted on: 08-28-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Torula Yeast is Mushbooh

TORULA YEAST IS MUSHBOOH

Torula yeast can be grown on alcohol and sugar cane. Last year we provided Halal status to it based on information from Torula yeast industry that Torula yeast is now grown on sugar cane but this information found not be correct because the e-mail today from a Nucleotide manufacturer indicate they still use alcohol as a media to grow Torula Yeast.

 

Now we have to contact the manufacturer of food products containing Torula Yeast whether Torula Yeast was grown on alcohol or sugar cane. If it was grown sugar cane then we can consume that food product make sure other ingredients are Halal.

Posted on: 08-19-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Adenosin 5' Mono Phosphate is a another name for Nucleotide

 ADENOSINE 5' MONO PHOSPHATE IS NUCLEOTIDE

Adenosine 5' Mono Phosphate is the chemical name of Nucleotide. It is used in Infant baby formula. There is no mention of Nucleotide. Please be aware of it. The infant formula containing Adenosine 5' Mono Phosphate is not a Halal baby formula

Posted on: 08-19-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol is used in Nucleotide production for Infant Formulas

 

ALCOHOL IS USED IN NUCLEOTIDE PRODUCTION AND NUCLEOTIDE IS USED IN INFANT FORMULAS

MCG has contacted same company after few years about use of alcohol in manufacturing of Nucleotide.

MCG has asked this question to company:

" Use of ethyl alcohol during the manufacturing of Nucleotide"

Here is their answer we received today:

 " The answer to your question is we do use alcohol for a nutrient source for the yeast. As for in the actual powder there is very little residual. If you have any other questions please let me know."

MCG cannot published the whole e-mail because they requested us not do so legally.

But they changed the source of yeast from Brower yeast to Torula yeast.

Only Brewer and Torula yeast can grow on alcohol not Baker yeast. The company used alcohol as media to grow Torula yeast. Then from millions of Torula yeast cells, they obtained Nucleotide.

Torula yeast also grown on sugar cane.

The nucleotide from this company is used in Similac, Enfamil, Nestle and Gerber infant formula.

 

Posted on: 08-19-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Duncan Hines Bakery Mixes are made with alcohol containing flavors

DUNCAN HINES BAKERY MIXES ARE MADE WITH ALCOHOL CONTAINING FLAVORS

According to an e-mail from Pinnacle Foods with Reference #: 9089760 to a Canadian Muslim consumers that all Duncan Hines bakery mixes are made with alcohol containing flavors. 

Posted on: 08-16-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Deep Food's Frozen Indian Products are not Halal

DEEP FOOD'S FROZEN INDIAN PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL

Ms Savita, Manager Customer Service has informed MCG on the phone that their frozen Indian food products are not Halal because there is no indication on the package that they are Halal. Any Muslim consumer can confirm her statement by calling her at 908-810-7500 in USA or 905-694-9550 in Canada.

Posted on: 06-17-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: New information Crest Toothpastes

   NEW INFORMATION ON CREST TOOTHPASTES IN USA & CANADA

Procter & Gamble very recently has decided to eliminate animal derived ingredients from all their Crest toothpastes both in USA and Canada.

It is a good news but we have to be very careful because Crest toothpastes with animal derived ingredients are still available in the markets. They are not giving any date when all the stock of animal derived ingredients Crest toothpaste will be sold out.

So please buy only the following four flavors of Crest toothpastes until for next 6 months or a year:

1. Crest Cavity Protection Regular flavor

2. Crest Cavity Protection Cool Mint Gel

3. Crest Cavity Protection Icy Mint Strip

4. Crest Cavity Protection Kid

Posted on: 04-20-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Do not bring Laxmi brand products to

PLEASE DO NOT BRING LAXMI BRAND PRODUCTS TO YOUR HOMES

All Laxmi brand products has Hindu belief deity Laxmi picture and they are available in all Muslim owned Indo/Pak Desi grocery stores in USA and Canada. We should avoid bringing homes these products because we perform Namaz(Salat), read Quran, read Zikar and Darood, fast during Ramadan in our homes. The company has to change its logo. The Muslim owners of grocery stores has buying power and they can demand to change it. There are other Hindu owned brands which do not have any their religious symbol on their products.

So MCG is requesting Muslims to stop buying Laxmi brand products until they remove the picture of deity Laxmi's picture from their products.

Posted on: 04-16-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in 7 UP & Canada Dry is confirmed

ALCOHOL IN THE FLAVOR OF 7 UP & CANADA DRY IS  CONFIRMED

Dr. Pepper Snapple Group company has confirmed the use of ethyl alcohol as a solvent or carrier in the flavor of 7UP, Dr. Pepper and other product to MCG by e-mail.

"Thank you for contacting us about 7Up Regular. Your comments and inquiries are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about our brands.

Most of the flavors in our products are designed with a carrier that is usually ethanol. The amounts are very slight, but still present".

They made the following products:

All 7 UP, Dr. Pepper, A & W, Canada Dry, Clamato, Country Time, Crush,  Diet Rite, Hawaiian Punch, Schweppes, Snapple, Squirt.

Posted on: 03-25-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: AirHead Products are Not Halal

According to a e-mail sent to one of our sister in Canada, AirHead can not gurantee that their products are free from animal derived ingredients including AirHead Xtreme Sour Belts.

Posted on: 06-18-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cadbury's Original Gummies, Maynard wine gum and Trident Splash Gums are Not Halal

The gelatin used in Original Gummies and Maynard?s Wine Gums is beef derived. The gelatin used in Maynard?s Juicy Squirts is derived from pork.

Trident Splash contains a beef derived gelatin.

There is no alcohol in our products. We thanks for our sister in Canada who provided this information.

Posted on: 06-16-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Response from Wrigley about their Gums in Canada

 

The vast majority of Wrigley products sold in Canada are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products. Glycerin is the most common ingredient in our gum products. Glycerin can come from animal, vegetable or synthetic sources. The glycerin we use comes from vegetable sources only.

At present, the only exceptions are Extra? Polar IceTM, Altoids? mints, Juicy Fruit Twisted Green, Lifesavers Gummies, Excel Cool Blast mints and Lifesavers Cremesavers.
?
Extra? Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavour beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based. This brand is not to be confused with Excel ? Polar Ice, which does not contain gelatin. Juicy Fruit Twisted Green gum uses shellac (also known as Confectioner's Glaze) as a coating agent.

 

In addition, the different varieties of our ALTOIDS? mints, Lifesavers Gummies and Excel Cool Blast (liquid-filled) mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork. Gelatin does not impart any flavor to ALTOIDS, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mints. When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process. Lifesavers Cremesavers brands use dairy products.
?
Our staff is continually looking at alternatives to animal gelatin, but at the moment we've not been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality consumers expect of our products.
?
Another common question concerns whether glycerin or sugar alcohols are true alcohols or not. Glycerin is an alcohol but this type of alcohol is a natural byproduct of most plants, fruits and vegetables or it sometimes has a synthetic source. Sugar alcohols refers to the group of ingredients that are artificial sweeteners. We would like to point out that these alcohols are NOT the same as the ethyl alcohol found in alcoholic beverages.

This e-mail was sent to us by one of our sister in Canada.

Posted on: 06-10-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: San Diego Yogurts for Canadian Muslims School students are not Halal

 

I went to San Diego Yogurts website and found that it does not contain rennet, alcohol etc. but when I looked at? ingredients of yogurts, I found out that the yogurts are made with whey, whey protein. So I called the company and told him that Whey and whey protein are usually made from using rennet. Then he told me that he will take out "No Rennet" from website. I told him how come you will take out. It means whatever you claiming on the website is not true. They do not have a technical person but still write free from alcohol rennet, animal derived ingredients. We can not trust this company. So all their yogurt products are not Halal. Muslim school children in Canada should not use San Diego yogurts.

Posted on: 04-07-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCDONALDS BUNS CONTAIN ALCOHOL IN CANADA

Ethanol or alcohol is listed as an ingredient in the ingredients statement of Big Mac, Regular Buns, Mac Club, Sesame Seeds Buns. Ciabatta Buns do not contains alcohol but it may or may not contain gelatin in Beta Carotene color.??

Posted on: 01-07-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: DAIRY QUEEN PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL

Dairy Queen International? informed MCG on December 17, 2008 that they will not guarantee about Kosher/Halal status of their products because different stores in USA/Canada buy the food products from different suppliers. Some suppliers provide kosher certified food products and some do not.

Posted on: 12-22-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: WHY DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN USA & CANADA

Lot of Muslims calls Frito Lay Company to find out the Halal status of Doritos and Cheetos products. The 800 personnel are trained by the company to tell consumers that their cheeses are made with microbial rennet enzyme. But many Muslims are not aware that the rennet is not only thing, which decide the Halal status of a cheese. There are other things which has to be Halal if used during manufacture of a cheese such as Mother Culture Media, Bulk Culture Media (which is used to grow bacterial cheese cultures), other Enzymes such as Lipase and finally dairy flavors containing Enzymes, if the rennet is from microbial and above mentioned are not from Halal source then cheese will not be Halal. The culture medias are made with milk, whey and lactose (Haram if made from pork rennet, Haram media, pork enzymes), dried autolyzed brewer?s yeast (by product of beer) and Pancreatin (Haram if from pork). If culture media is pure milk then it is Halal.? There was a international uproar from Muslims around the world when Ajinomoto of Indonesia used a pork derived culture media to grow bacteria for the production of Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) in Indonesia in 2000 (Muslim Consumer Group?s News/Alert update Jan. 05, 2001).? We explained to Frito Lay Nutritionist supervisor Ms. Nina Ferguson about the requirements for Halal cheese and other ingredients. She is not aware of what are Halal and its requirements for Doritos and Cheetos products. We offered our help to educate them about Halal status of their products.

Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal because of the following reasons:

1. The ingredients they used are not Halal or kosher certified.

2.? The products are made on the same line where animal derived ingredients? (including pork) containing products are manufactured.

3.? Cheese used in Doritos and Cheetos products is not Halal or kosher certified.? So cheese in Doritos and Cheetos is not Halal.

4.? Dairy ingredients used in Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal or kosher certified. So Doritos and Cheetos products are not made with Halal dairy ingredients.

5.? Natural and Artificial flavors used are not Halal or kosher certified. These flavors may have contained animal derived ingredients and alcohol as a solvent.

6.? Artificial Liquid colors used are Halal or kosher certified (Pork glycerin can be used? as a solvent in FD&C liquid colors).

7. Doritos and Cheetos products are not Halal or kosher certified, so there is no protection for Muslim consumers. The source of ingredients can be change at any time without informing Muslim consumers.

Muslim Consumer Group does not recommend Muslims to consume Doritos and Cheetose products because of the above facts.

Posted on: 09-17-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: KOSHER GELATIN IS NOT A HALAL INGREDIENT

MCG is educating Muslim consumers that the Kosher Gelatin is not a Halal ingredient since long time because it is obtained from pork or non Zabiha beef. A Professor who is expert in Kosher foods has confirmed MCG position at International Association of Food Safety seminar on Ethnic foods. He told that the majority of Kosher Gelatin is from pork.

Posted on: 09-07-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL

Not all Kosher Certified food products are Halal because they do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain the following ingredients:

(1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list such in McDonlad's buns in Canada(9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce with soy & wheat as ingredients (11) Brewer?s Yeast Extract or Brewer;s Autolyzed Yeast or yeast extract made from brewer?s yeast, a by product of beer making used only in cheese and? cheese crackers[ but? in all other products? Yeast Extract or autolyzed yeast is made from baker?s yeast a Halal source] (12) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze made Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated.

Posted on: 02-06-06 00:00 AM


TITLE: RED BULL ENERGY DRINKS ARE NOT HALAL

Although the Red Bull energy drinks are Kosher certified, the company refuses to provide information on solvent use in artificial flavors. The company did provide the ethyl alcohol content less than 0.05% rather than zero. It means the solvent used in artificial flavor is ethyl alcohol because the rest of the ingredients in the Red Bull soft drinks do not provide any source for alcohol, so where this minute alcohol comes from, it is definitely contributed by artificial flavor in the energy drinks.

Posted on: 07-05-05 00:00 AM


TITLE: NOXZEMA CREAM PRODUCTS ARE MADE WITH PORK GELATIN

According to Procter Gamble Company all Noxzema cream products containing gelatin are made with pork or beef based gelatin and company can not guarantee that it is pork free.

Posted on: 08-04-04 00:00 AM


TITLE: WHY JUICY JUICE FRUIT JUICES ARE NOT HALAL

There are four reasons why juicy juice fruit juices made in USA are not Halal. (1) they are not under any certification, so they can change the source of raw material any time, (2) they can be bottles the Juicy Juice products on the same lines where Haram products (for example juices made with carmine color) may be bottled, (3) the Natural flavor may not be Halal or Kosher certified and may contains alcohol as a solvent, (4) there is no guarantee against the use of hidden or processing aid Haram ingredients or Haram rework juice with carmine color. Juicy Juice products made in USA lack protection for Muslims consumer against use of Harm ingredients or contamination with Haram products.

Posted on: 07-22-04 00:00 AM