Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Have a Question  
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
 Show Only Halal 

News:

The information in News section could be either for Food or Non Food items and other news items which are important for Muslim consumers.

TITLE: Halal Fruit Punch, Lemonade, Limeade and Drinks from Sunny D For Ramadan

The following Drinks, Lemonade, Limeade and Fruit Punch from Sunny Delight brand are Halal to be use at Iftar time.

They as follow:

Sunny D Fruit Punch

Sunny D Chillers Lemonade

Sunny D Raspberry Lemonade

Sunny D Cherry Limeade

Sunny D Sunny D's Tangy Original,

Sunny D Smooth

Sunny D Orange Strawberry

Sunny D Orange Mango

Sunny D Peach

Sunny D Grape

Sunny D Watermelon

A sister has provided following information: Salaam alaikum, I contacted SunnyD again per your asking 3 days ago... here is what I wrote to find out if they use alcohol or ethyl alcohol: Hi. I know I have recently contacted you last week, but I wanted to make my question clear: " Is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor in any of your SunnyD fruit juices Is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used or not in the flavor as a solvent". Can I please request the QA or the Technical service department to provide this information for me Thank you for your time and assistance. Their response: Good Morning, Thank you for contacting SunnyD. Ethanol is not used as a solvent in the production of SunnyD. As previously stated, SunnyD does contain approximately 40 ppm of ethanol alcohol from naturally occurring fermentation in the fruit juices. Thank you for taking the time to contact us. Have a Great Evening! Sincerely, Sunny Delight Beverages Co Consumer Relations Department ~Contact Center hours are M-F 8am-7pm - Muslimah

Posted on: 06-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: What are the Halal requirements of different Food Products

What are the requirements of a Halal................

 1. Apple Juice:

a. A kosher symbol on the bottle must be on the bottle otherwise pork gelatin can be used as processing aid ingredient during apple juice processing.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor.

2. Apple Sauce:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor.

3. Bagels:

a. A kosher symbol required.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor. c. No L-Cysteine a mushbooh ingredient should be part of ingredients statement.

4. Bread:

a. A kosher is desired but not necessary.

b. The dough conditioners such as Mono & Diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Ethoxylated Mono and Diglycerides, Hydrated Monoglycerides, DATEM should be from vegetable fat, confirmed by calling the bakery.

c. Dairy ingredients such as unsalted butter, buttermilk solids, Sodium Caseinate and whey should not be part of ingredients list if there is no kosher symbol on the package. Dry milk solids and Non Fat dry milk solid be OK with kosher symbol or call bakery to find every above ingredients are kosher certified or not. If they say yes then except unsalted butter every above ingredients will be Halal.

d. There should be no natural flavor or artificial flavor under the ingredients list with or without kosher symbol.

e. Bakeries are now adding vitamins or enrichment to the bread. If there is no kosher or vitamins are not  kosher certified then bread will not be Halal.

f. REB A the natural Stevia leaf non calorie sweetener is a not Halal ingredient and should not be part of the ingredients statement of the bread.

g. Turmeric Color should not be part of ingredients if there is no kosher symbol on the bread because polysorbate 80 an emulsifier is used as a hidden ingredient.

h. Dry yeast if from brewer yeast makes a bread not Halal.

5. Cereal:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor should be part of the ingredients list.

c. Presence of Vanilla Extract or gelatin or natural vanilla or vanilla flavor or confectionary glaze makes a cereal not Halal.

6. Cheese:

a. Cheese is only Halal if it carries a kosher symbol or a Halal symbol if Halal certifying organization's Halal criteria meets MCG's Halal criteria.

b. Cheese should not be made with natural or artificial flavor. c. Carrageenan a mushbooh ingredient should be not part of the ingredients list.

7. Chocolate:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or confectionary glaze or natural vanilla flavor or vanilla extract or Resinous Glaze should be part of the ingredients list.

8. Cookies and Crackers:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or confectionary glaze or natural vanilla flavor or vanilla extract or gelatin should be part of the ingredients list.

9. Evaporated Milk:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b.Carrgeenan should not be used because ethyl alcohol may be use in the processing of Carrageenan.

10. Fruit Juices:

a. A kosher is desired but not necessary if the fruit juice is 100% fruit juice except apple juice.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or vanilla extract or Stevia is a part of ingredients list.

11. Granola Bars:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor or vanilla extract or soy protein isolate or carrageenan or vanilla flavor or vanilla used under ingredients statement.

12. Infant Formula:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor, no nucleotide, no Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate should be part of ingredients list.

13. Macaroni & Cheese dinner:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No alcohol is used in natural or artificial flavor in cheese mix.

14. Margarine or Spread:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No alcohol is used in flavor.

15. Mayonnaise:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. Natural or artificial flavor should be free of alcohol. No wine, no L-Cysteine should be used.

16. Multivitamins and fish oil:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. The ingredients should contain natural or artificial flavor or no extracts should be used because alcohol may be used as a extracting solvent.

c. No gelatin in the capsule, veggie capsules are Halal. No soft gel containing gelatin, no pharmaceutical glaze and no aqueous coating should be part of ingredients list.

17. Potato Chips:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor or no alcohol in flavor, no yeast extract or no torula yeast should not be used.

18. Sour Cream:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor no carrageenan no gelatin should be used.

19. Yogurt:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor, no vanilla flavor, no kosher gelatin should be part of ingredients.

Posted on: 06-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Hadith About Eating HALAL FOOD

English Translation of Hadith  

Hazrat Abu Hurairah (May Allah be pleased with him) reported: The Messenger of Allahimage001.jpg [SAWW](PBUH) said, "O people! Allah is Pure and, therefore, accepts only that which is pure. Allah has commanded the believers as He has commanded His Messengers by saying: `O Messengers! Eat of the good things, and do good deeds.' (23:51) And He said: `O you who believe (in the Oneness of Allah - Islamic Monotheism)! Eat of the lawful things that We have provided you...''' (2:172). Then he image001.jpg [SAWW](PBUH) made a mention of the person who travels for a long period of time, his hair are disheveled and covered with dust. He lifts his hand towards the sky and thus makes the supplication: `My Rubb! My Rubb!' But his food is unlawful, his drink is unlawful, his clothes are unlawful and his nourishment is unlawful, how can, then his supplication be accepted''

[Muslim Hadith # 2214].  

Posted on: 05-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Golden Gate and Country Fair brands of Wheat Flours are Halal certified by MCG in Canada

MCG in April 2014 Halal certified the following wheat flour from North America Milling Company of Whitby, Ontario:

Golden Gate Brand : Atta, All Purpose Flour, Strong Baker Flour

Country Fair Brand: All Purpose Flour

Farina D' Ore Brand: Italian Flour

North America Milling Brand: Pastry Flour and Cake Flour

Posted on: 05-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: NOT ALL ALCOHOL ARE ETHYL ALCOHOL OR HARAM

Ethyl alcohol is Haram because of its intoxication quality. But not all alcohol are ethyl alcohol although word alcohol is written with their name. Here are some examples:

1. Sugar alcohols do not contain ethyl alcohol but they called sugar alcohol because of their chemical formula. Sugar Alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrate(plant source). All the sugar alcohols are Halal except Erythritol(made through alcoholic fermentation) and if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal.

2. Benzyl Alcohol is a organic compound and used as solvent in ink, paint, resin coating. It is a Halal alcohol.


3. Butyl alcohol is not ethyl alcohol and used as solvent in paints

4. Cetyl alcohol is also not ethyl alcohol but a fatty alcohol or wax and it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of cetyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

5. Stearyl Alcohol is manufactured from fat based stearic acid and it is not ethyl alcohol. It is also used in cosmetic products. it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat based stearic acid and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

 

Posted on: 04-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Adonis Supermarket in Mississauga, ON is added to the website

Majority owned Metro's Marche Adonis Supermarket at Mississauga, ON is added to the website. The store also caters to Muslim shoppers with a Halal meats counter that sits next to (but is separated from) the regular fresh meats counter. Although sign says hand slaughtered Halal meat from Sargent Farm. MCG is not in endorsing Halal meat business. Adonis was founded in Montreal in 1979 by two recently immigrated Arab brothers, Elie and Jamil Cheaib, and George Ghrayeb. Adonis operates five stores in Montreal plus a food distributor. Metro purchased a majority stake last fall. (Canadian Grocer).

Adonis supermarket was opened in Mississauga, ON in 2013 at same place where Metro supermarket was used to operate in 2012.

Posted on: 04-15-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Sports Nutrition Products

MCG has completed the initial research on Halal Sports Nutrition products for our young Muslim consumers so that they can build their bodies by consuming Halal Sports Nutrition Products. So for MCG has provide Halal Whey Protein items, High Protein and Healthy Bars which are available at various Nutrition Food Stores.

The above products are not made with any flavor so that you do not have to worry about alcohol in flavor. These products are Kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements.

Inshallah MCG will continue to add more Halal Sports Nutrition products.

Posted on: 02-20-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: What are the requirements of a Halal ice cream

The following are the requirements of a Halal Ice Cream

1. It must a have a Kosher symbol which meets the Halal requirements (why not Halal symbol because many  ice cream products with Halal symbol are made with alcohol containing natural or artificial flavor and Halal certifying organizations say that 0.1% or 0.5% alcohol is Halal and it does not make you intoxicated. But there is no Hadith which says 0.1% or 0.5% intoxicant (Alcohol) as Halal.

2. There should be no natural or artificial listed as ingredient under the ingredients statement. Most liquid natural or artificial flavor are made with alcohol as a solvent. These  alcohol containing liquid natural or artificial flavors  are added to ice cream after pasteurization and cooling process so alcohol in flavors is not subject to heat treatment. Alcohol in ice cream remained as is.

3. It should not have Vanilla or vanilla flavor or vanilla extract as part of ingredient statement because vanilla or vanilla flavor is obtained by extracting with alcohol from vanilla beans. According to FDA vanilla extract must contain minimum of 35% alcohol otherwise it will not be call as vanilla extract.

4. It should not ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean speck because it is not real vanilla beans which are very expensive. Ground vanilla bean or Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks in the food industry.

5. Ice cream should not have Carrageenan as an ingredient because ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol or potassium chloride (KCL) is used during processing of carrageenan and it takes time to investigate what was used during processing.

6. Ice cream should be free from rum flavor and other liquor because kosher certified product may contain liquor or rum flavor.

7. Ice cream bars should not have confectionary glaze or resinous glaze as coating on ice cream bars because these glazes are made with shellac dissolve in alcohol.

8. Ice Cream should not contain any Extract such as Mint Extract in Haagen Daazs Mint Five Ice cream. Alcohol is used in some extract as a extracting solvent.

There are 8 Halal ice cream in Canadian supermarkets as reported on our website wwww.canadianhalalfoods.com and they do not have flavor in them.

There is only one Halal soft vanilla ice cream available in USA which is made by Pacific Valley Dairy (Phone number 636-334-4700 www.pvdairy.com, please find out whether it is available in your city). This Halal soft vanilla ice was sold at ISNA convention in 2007 at Chicago. It is Halal because it is kosher certified and made with artificial vanilla flavor with propylene glycol (a Halal solvent) as a solvent according to the company. This soft vanilla ice cream is not available in supermarkets only at food service places.

Posted on: 02-04-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Chap Sticks are Halal in USA

Pfizer company has informed MCG that following ChapStick are free from pork or beef fat. Pfizer is investigating whether ethanol or alcohol was used in flavor or fragrance or as extracting solvent for leaf extract.

1. Classic ChapStick

2. Moisturizer ChapStick

3. Medicated ChapStick

4. Active ChapStick

5. Flava-Craze ChapStick

6. Hydration Lock ChapStick

7. Peppermint ChapStick

8. Seasonal Flavor ChapStick

9. Mixstix ChapStick

Please call Pfizer Canada to confirm it.

Posted on: 12-30-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: How Orthodox Kosher Symbols helps Muslims

Although NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 

But Orthodox Kosher symbols if they meet Halal requirements protect Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or processing aid ingredients by the food manufacturer. This way Muslims do not have to worry about hidden ingredients in food products or ingredients.

Posted on: 12-28-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Baskin Robbins Company's response

MCG wrote about hidden alcohol in flavor and use of ethyl alcohol during the processing of Carrageenan. But they did not answer the questions. So MCG called Baskin Robbins toll free number again. An agent the return the call and provided the following on phone on March 13, 2013.

1. Alcohol is used in flavors of Baskin Robbins Waffle Cones and Base Ball Nut Ice Cream.

2. No alcohol is used in the flavors of Blueberry Cheesecake Ice Cream so it is a Halal ice cream.

3. No alcohol is used in Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice cream but it has Mushbooh Carrageenan. This ice cream is Mushbooh.

Baskin Robbins agent during a telephone call on March 13, 2013 will try provide a list of alcohol free ice cream and use of Isopropyl alcohol or KCL during the processing of Carrageenan. I do not know when they will provide the list but I request all those Muslim consumers who are interested in consuming Baskin Robbins ice cream please contact Baskin Robbins at 1-800-859-5339. You have to mention this paragraph " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department cannot answer this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".

Posted on: 03-13-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG's new Halal food ingredients book is available in February 2013

MCG's new book " Food Ingredients and Their Halal Status" Inshallah will be available in the first week of February, 2013. This book will be available as a soft copy and also in E-Book form. This book is written by Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed for any part of the world including USA, Canada, England, Australia, European, Muslim, African and Asian countries.

There are a total of 948 food ingredients and E-Numbers researched and assigned Halal, Haram, Not Halal and Mushbooh status. Due to expensive shipping charges, this book will be available as an E-Book for countries other than the USA. The cost of the book and E-Book will be $10.00.

Posted on: 01-27-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG'S HALAL CERTIFIED FRUIT COCKTAIL

Posted on: 11-11-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG's Ahmed became Certified Food Scientist (CFS)

Institute of Food Technologists organization of Chicago, IL USA has certified br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed as a Certified Food Scientist. They wrote to Br. Ahmed the following message:

" You have demonstrated your practical knowledge and commitment to lifelong learning. Certified Food Scientists will undoubtedly help raise the visibility and recognition of the food science profession. Your lifetime professional accomplishments and attainment of the CFS will serve as excellent example for your peers and the future generations of food scientists. "

Br. Ahmed has meet their requirements for Certified Food Scientist. Br. Ahmed has many years of work experience in US food industry, he developed 18 new food products for different food companies for supermarkets. His work experience at Kraft Food USA resulted in saving of 6 million dollar per year for the cost of ingredients of Kraft's BBQ Sauces during in 2011.

Posted on: 11-11-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Artificila Flavor in Kraft Products are free from Alcohol

Kraft Canada has told MCG that only artificial flavor is free of alcohol in their Christie brand bakery products but they are only Halal if a Kosher symbol COR or MK or Circle U appears on the package. These kosher certified products are only Halal if they meet Halal requirements.

Posted on: 10-21-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Canadian Halal Foods website was updated in September 2012

Muslim Consumer Group spent days in Toronto to update the website by conducting research in 8 Toronto supermarkets in Mississauga area for Halal status food product. This research was done during middle of September 2012.

Posted on: 10-16-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG participated at 5th International Conference on Halal and Healthy Products in Istanbul, Turkey August 31 - Septmeber 02, 2012

Brother Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG have given a presentation on Halal certification in Non Muslim Countries and problems regarding its practice. He explained it is impossible to Halal certified frozen fish and potato fried products when manufacturer used dried beer in beer battered coating on fish and potato. He also explained problem associated with Nucleotides used in infant baby formula which was obtained from Torula yeast grown on alcohol. Use of pork gelatin during the processing of apple juice which do not appear on ingredients list because it is a hidden ingredient. Use of pork gelatin in medicine capsule a problem for US Muslim consumers and mentioned how to avoid it. The problem of use of alcohol on the coating on pain relievers such as Extra Strength Tylenol. Use of pork fat based Magnesium Stearate for lubricating molds to make foam cups such as Dart foam cups. Although Muslim countries do not have above problems but if they import above products from USA whether they have information about this or not. But at least they obtained above information from his presentation.

Posted on: 09-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Alcohol was detected in Pepsi according to Latest Lab. Results

No Alcohol was detected in Pepsi according to Latest Lab. Results

Muslim Consumer Group was getting a lot of inquiries about the French study of finding the presence of alcohol in European Coke and Pepsi. MCG sent the samples to Northland Lab in Northfield, IL to use a more sophisticated  method of Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method than French's Headspace Gas Chromatography-Flame Ionization Detection (HS-GC-FID) method which cannot quantify the amount of Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol.

MCG sent unopened Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP bottles to Northland lab to perform alcohol test by using Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method. This method can detect amount of alcohol at least 0.001% or 10 Part Per Million or 10 milligram per liter or more. But this method can't detect less than 0.001% of alcohol.

The alcohol level in Pepsi was less than 0.001% or 10 PPM as reported by Northland Lab. It means they cannot detect alcohol in Pepsi.

MCG has paid over $1200 to perform these analysis for Muslim consumers in USA.

Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

1818 Skokie Blvd.

Northbrook, IL 60062 Tel: (847)272-8700

www.northlandlabs.com Fax: (847)272-2348

 

Date Received: 07/13/2012

Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

Start Date: 07/13/2012

Due Date: 08/03/2012

 

Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

AD64882 PEPSI - MAR 25 13 090

58G061823A

SD SOFT DRINK

Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

Provided

DL Method Reference

 

Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol < 10 PPM USP 35

 

Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 22.3 deg C

 

AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

IDPH #17501

Reviewed By: Accreditation Number:

 

Posted on: 07-25-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wrigly Gums in USA and Canada

Recently one of our Muslim consumer sister has forwarded the following  information from a e-mails from Wrigley Company:

"None of the Five Gums sold in Canada and the U.S. are kosher.  They do not, however, contain any alcohol or ingredients derived from animals.

At present, the only exceptions are Extra® Polar IceTM, Altoids® mints, Juicy Fruit Twisted Green, Lifesavers Gummies, Excel Cool Blast mints, Excel Mist and 5 React and Creme Savers. Extra® Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavour beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based.  This brand is not to be confused with Excel ® Polar Ice, which does not contain gelatin.  Juicy Fruit Twisted Green gum uses shellac (also known as Confectioner's Glaze) as a coating agent.

In answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in Canada are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products.  Glycerin is the most common ingredient in our gum products.  Glycerin can come from animal, vegetable or synthetic sources.  The glycerin we use comes from vegetable sources only.

In addition, the different varieties of our ALTOIDS® mints, Lifesavers Gummies and Excel Cool Blast (liquid-filled) mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork.  Gelatin does not impart any flavor to Altoids, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mints.  When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process.  Creme Savers use dairy products.

All our products are Alcohol Free. We do not use Alcohol as a solvent in the flavor It is not a hidden ingredient or used as a  processing aid ingredient of a flavor".

Mr. Ahmed,

Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to request information.  We are always happy to hear from our consumers and will be happy to answer your question.

In response to your request, we follow strict guidelines when it comes to that. But because they are both manufactured in the same facility, there is always a chance for cross contamination.

We thank you once again for taking time to contact us. 

Sincerely,

Ashley Hern
Consumer Care Representative

8000261139

 

Although Wrigley gums are not Kosher certified but based on the above information from Wrigley Company, MCG has provided Not Halal status because of  cross contamination with pork gelatin

 

Posted on: 03-29-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Preseident Choice PC Dipped & Chewy Granola Bars - Chocolate Chip is a Halal granola bar

Acccording to a e-mail send to one of Canadian Muslim consumer, the solvent in natural flavor of President Choice Dipped & Chewy Granola Bars - Chocolate Chip is prpylene glycol, so it is a Halal granola bar.

Posted on: 03-18-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Maxi Omega 3200 Kosher Fish oil at KOBO in Toronto, Canada

The Maxi Health's Maxi Omega 3200 Kosher Fish Oil is made with fish gelatin capsule and it is Halal for Muslims:

Store in Toronto: KOBO at Wilson

Phone numebr: 416-633-8784

Brand Name: Maxi Health

Products name: Maxi's Omega 3200 Kosher Fish Oil Capsule

 

Posted on: 03-07-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: USA: Muslim Consumer Group Presentation at Riyadh’s Halal conference

Courtesy of www.halalfocus.com

 Filed in Canada, Ingredients, Media & Events, Middle East & Africa, Saudi Arabia, The Americas, USA on 27/02/2012 with 1 comment

 

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed, founder & President of Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada presented a paper on Processing Aid or Hidden Ingredients in Food Products & ingredients and their Halal status from US food industry point of view at First International Conference on Halal Food Control at Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

In his presentation he explained which processing aid or Hidden ingredients are used in fresh apple, apple juice, fortified milk in USA & Canada, Bakery products, Pasta, Potato Products, Mayonnaise, Tartar Sauce, seasoning, dry mixes, Beta Carotene, Soft Drinks, Fruit Drinks, Cheese, Whey, Infant Baby Formulas, Cereals, Turmeric Powder, Butter, Margarine, Vanilla Extract in Cookies, Malt Flavoring and Malt Extract in Cereals based on his 30 years of US food industry experience, and his recent experience with Kraft Foods USA until December 2011, which led him to also include the Hidden ingredients used in Kraft BBQ Sauce.

He also mentioned that not all Kosher certified food products are consider Halal unless they meet the Halal requirements. He provided a list of 17 ingredients, if any single ingredient of those 17 ingredients present in a Kosher certified food product then that kosher certified is not consider Halal based on MCG criteria for Halal status.

He provided a solution to Muslim consumers of USA/Canada for not consuming Haram Hidden ingredients in a food product if the food product has a Halal or Kosher symbol(if kosher certification meets the Halal requirements)on the food package because many Muslim consumers in USA and Canada have little knowledge of hidden ingredients in food products and their Halal status.

MCG also had a booth at the exhibition to show how they are serving the Muslim Ummah through the Halal Food Book “A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products in USA”,  and through their website www.muslimconsumergroup.com which is logged in 135 countries with 1100 visits per day and their www.canadianhalalfoods.com website for Canadian Muslims.

Muslim Consumer Group do not Halal certify any food product or ingredients if alcohol is used in food flavors or during processing.

 

 

 

Posted on: 03-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Saudi Food & Drug Authority's First International Conference on Halal Food Control in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, was a huge success

MCG would like to congratulate the SFDA for conducting a successful First International Conference on Halal Food Control in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia,  February 12 to February 15, 2012.

There was an excellent paper on Food and Drinks of Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum by Dr. Abdulrahman Omar Ahmed Jurdy Madakhaly of Saudi Arabia.

Another good paper was the criteria for Halal Food in the four Schools of Thoughts, a comparison study by Ahmad Mubarak Salim of Advisory Board in the Ministry of Shura Council and House of Representatives, Kingdom of Bahrain.

 There were diverse professionals from 20 countries including the religious, scientific professionals who spoke on various topic related to Halal Food. There were exhibits from 20 countries including MCG of USA and Canada.

The attendees were very interested what MCG is doing for Muslim Ummah in 135 countries, they have taken all Halal Food books from different editions at booth which were for only display purpose. All the copies of November 2011 MCG Halal Food Guide Magazine were also taken..

Alhumdulillah MCG had a very good exposure in Saudi Arabia and Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG presented a very detailed paper about use of Hidden Ingredients in food products, in various food ingredients and their Halal status available in US and Canadian supermarkets which many Muslim consumers have very little knowledge about their Halal status and showed ways to avoid consuming Haram hidden ingredients in food products. The presentation was very informative according to the audiance from various countries.

The main session was divided into Lawfulness of Food Additives, Analysis Methods of Halal Food, Control of Halal Food, Halal Food Standards, Halal Certification, Countries Experience in Halal Food Control, Development of Halal industry. Panel discussion on Lawfulness of Food produced by Biotechnology, Nanotechnology, Stunning and Automated Mechanical slaughter.

MCG congratulates Dr. Hamad A. Alkanhal Chairman, of the scientific committee & Executive Director of Monitoring centers and crises management of Saudi Food & Drug Authority, Dr. Ahmed Bin Yousef Al-Diruesh Vice Rector of Imam Muhammad Bin Saud Islamic University for Scientific Institutes, Dr. Fouad Suleman Alghnaim Department of Islamic Jurisprudence Imam Muhammad Bin Saud Islamic University, Dr. Mansuour Faris Houssen Department of Animal Production King Saud University, Dr. Abdulrahman S. Al-Khalifa Department of Food Science and Nutrition King Saud University, Dr. Ibraheem Al-Sheddy Executive Director of Risk Assessment Saudi Food & Drug Authority, Dr. Abdulllah Ibrahim Alnasar Department of Islamic Culture King Saud University for conducting a very professional conference of diverse experts in the field of Halal foods both religious and professionals involved in promoting Halal foods globally.

                                                                                             

MCG thanks the great Saudi hospitality provided to the speakers and their spouses for housing, meals, transportation from their home countries; and speakers who performed Umrah thank  SFDA for covering the expenses of Umrah.

Posted on: 02-26-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Oleoresin of Spices

 Oleoresin of Spices

Oleoresin of spices  are concentrated liquid form of spices and they are used for flavoring in food products.

There are three solvents commonly used in the extraction of spices and they are all Halal chemicals:

Hexane

Acetone

Methanol

After extraction all Oleoresins or spice extracts are standardized to achieve proper concentration and consistency by adding the following ingredients which are considered as the processing aid or hidden ingredients:

Mono and Diglycerides

Vegetable Oil

Silicon Dioxide

Since Mono & Diglycerides are fat based emulsifiers so it requires protection from pork fat for Muslim consumers. Halal or Kosher symbol on the food packages containing spice extract indicates that Mono & Diglycerides are from soy fat if Mono & Diglycerides is used as a processing aid or hidden ingredient in spice extract to standardized it.

Muslim Consumers could not find oleoresin of spices under ingredients statement of a food  product if it was used in it. For example oleoresin of black pepper if used in a food product then it will be labeled as "Natural Flavor" or Spice Extract. No alcohol is used in the manufacture of Oleoresin of Black Pepper.

Majority of food companies never tell the Muslim consumers if Oleoresin of Black Pepper is used since they labeled it as "Natural Flavor" but Muslim consumer do not need to know about Oleoresin of spices. They should concentrate on finding if alcohol is used in natural flavor and if the food product has a Halal or Kosher symbol on it.

 

Posted on: 02-05-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG at Saudi Arabia's First International Conference on Halal Food Control and Exhibition

Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada is participating at First International Conference on Halal Food Control and Exhibition on February 12-15 2012 at Intercontinental Hotel Riyadh -  Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG will be speaker at the conference. He is going to present a research paper on "Processing Aid or Hidden Ingredients in Food Products and their Halal Status" .

Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada is also having a booth at the exhibition to show about our efforts in educating Muslim Ummah about Food Products and Food Ingredients and their Halal status. MCG is also explaining about our strict Halal certification without alcohol. For more information about the conference, please go to www.halalfood.sa

Posted on: 01-11-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MAJOR TYPE OF FERMENTED MILK PRODUCTS

 

MAJOR TYPE OF FERMENTED MILK PRODUCTS:

Type                                           Nature of Fermentation     

Kefir                                               Acid and Alcohol            Not Halal 
Koumiss                                       Acid and Alcohol            Not Halal

Yogurt                                           Medium Acid                    If Halal or Kosher Certified with OUD only No KD, No alcohol in flavor, No Kosher Gelatin
Cultured Buttermilk                   Low Acid                          If Halal or Kosher Certified
Cultured Cream                          Low Acid                          If Halal or Kosher Certified
Leben & Dahi                              Medium Acid                   Halal
Cheese                                         Acid, Diacetyle, Propionic Acid & CO2            If Halal or Kosher Certified


Pickles from cucumber and sauerkraut from cabbage are made by salting (brining). No alcohol is produced during the processing of these products. However, when flavors are added, those flavors may or may not contain alcohol as a carrier.

Posted on: 01-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Rose Water

 

Rose Water

Rose water is obtained from rose sepals and petals. It is the by- product of rose oil which is used in perfumes.

The rose oil is obtained through steam distillation. Attar is a rose perfume made from rose oil.  Rose oil is a mixture of volatile essential oil. Rose water is used in Iranian, Indian and Pakistani sweet desserts. Many Muslims think alcohol may be used but it is not. Rose water is available in Indian and Pakistani food stores in USA and Canada.

By using Gas chromatography, the following compounds are obtained from rose water: citronellol, nonadecane, geraniol, phenyl ethyl alcohol, henicosane, 9-nonadecen, eicosane, linalool, citronellyl acetate, methyleugenol, heptadecane, pentadecane, docosane, nerol, disiloxane, octadecane, and pentacosane.

The chemical formula for phenylethyl alcohol is C6H5CH2CH2OH with a phenol group attached to OH group where as the chemical formula for ethyl alcohol is C2H5OH without any phenol group. So the phenylethyl alcohol is not the same alcohol and do not cause any intoxication.

Phenylethyl alcohol is provide a good floral odor. This is the reason the rose water is used in many Indian Pakistani sweets such as Gulab Jamun.

Rose water is a Halal ingredient.

Posted on: 12-10-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Vitamins at Vitamin Shoppe stores in Canada

 

Halal vitamins from Solgar Brand at Vitamin Shoppe stores in USA & Canada

The following Amino Acids, Mineral and Vitamins from Solgar brand are Halal at Vitamin Shoppe stores in USA and Canada. There are many vitamins products from solgar with or without kosher symbol Kuf K available at Vitamin Shoppe stores but they do not meet the Halal requirements so they are not Halal. Only following vitamins/minerals products from Solgar brand are Halal with kosher symbol Kuf K which meet the Halal requirements:

Posted on: 12-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: EID MUBARAK

Assalam O Alaikum

Muslim Consumer Group wishes you a happy Eid.

Posted on: 11-06-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Cake Mixes from Betty Crocker

 

A Canadian Muslim consumers has sent us the e-mail from General Food regarding no alcohol is used in flavors in the following Betty Crocker's cake mixes:

Carrot Cake Mix

White Angel Food Cake Mix

Super Moist Cake Mix Cherry Chip 510 g, UPC: 006563304296

 Super Moist Cake Mix Lemon 510 g, UPC: 006563304294

Posted on: 06-01-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pepto Bismol are made without animal derived ingredients

 

Pepto Bismol is free from animal derived ingredients

According Proctor & Gamble no animal derived ingredients are used in Pepto Bismol.

Posted on: 05-13-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: The following medicine products are made without animal derived ingredients

 

The following medicine products from Pfizer are made without any animal derived ingredients:

1. Robax Platinum

2. Thermacare

3. Horlick (no alcohol)

4. Sensodyne Toothpaste (no alcohol)

5. Peppermint, assorted fruit, or Banana Berry Tum

6. Contact Syntheically derived alcohol maybe used in the manufacturing process
 

7. Eno (no alcohol)

8. Poly- Grip

9. Gaviscon Liquid

Benadryl:

Allergy Alexia Syrup for Adult (No glycerin, no animal derived ingredients)

Rolaid:

1. All Products ( No animal derived ingredients are used)

 Maalox:

1. Extra Strength Tablet ( No animal derived ingredients are used)

2. Extra Strength (No animal derived ingredients are used)

 

Posted on: 05-13-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: List of Halal Cheese

List of Halal Cheeses in Toronto supermarkets

The following are the brands names who manufacture Halal cheeses under following supermarkets:

Name of the cheese                                  Brand                                  Supermarket

Parmesan Cheese                                     Grande                                 Costco

Ricotta Cheese                                         Saputo                                Costco & other supermarkets

Cottage Cheese                                       Selection                              Food Basic

Cream Cheese Regular                              Selection                              Food Basic

Marble Cheddar Cheese w/KD Symbol      Tre Stelle                              FreshCo/Price Chopper

Provolone Cheese w/KD Symbol              Tre Stelle/Silani                    FreshCo/Price Chopper

Mozzarella Cheese w/KD Symbol              Cremourne                           Food Basic

Baby Parmesan w/KD Symbol                  Silani                                    Food Basic

American Soy Cheese Slices                     Tofutti                                 FreshCo/Price Chopper

 

Posted on: 04-19-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Not all alcohol are Haram(ethyl alcohol)

 

NOT ALL ALCOHOL ARE HARAM (ETHYL ALCOHOL)

 Ethyl alcohol is Haram because of its intoxication quality. But not all alcohol are ethyl alcohol although word alcohol is written with their name. Here are some examples:

1. Sugar alcohols do not contain ethyl alcohol but they called sugar alcohol because of their chemical formula. Sugar Alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrate. All the sugar alcohols are Halal except Erythritol(made through alcoholic fermentation) and if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal.

2. isopropyl alcohol is also used in many processes as well as in home cleaning products and skin lotions and it is also known as "Rubbing alcohol". This is a Halal alcohol because it does not cause intoxication.

 

3. Methyl alcohol or methanol or wood alcohol is also a Halal alcohol but it is a toxic alcohol . It is used in denatured ethanol or alcohol to denatured ethyl alcohol.

 

4. Benzyl Alcohol is a organic compound and used as solvent in ink, paint, resin coating. It is a Halal alcohol.

 

5. Specially Denatured Alcohol and Completely Denatured alcohol are ethyl alcohols to which denaturing materials are added to denature ethyl alcohol for purpose of not intended for consumption. They are used in cosmetic, pharmaceuticals products. They are allowed for skin application by many ulema.

 

6. Butyl alcohol is not ethyl alcohol and used as solvent in paints

 

7. Cetyl alcohol is also not ethyl alcohol but a fatty alcohol or wax and it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of cetyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

 

8. Stearyl Alcohol is manufactured from fat based stearic acid and it is not ethyl alcohol. It is also used in cosmetic products. it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat based stearic acid and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer

Posted on: 03-09-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: How to enjoy eating Halal Yogurt with Fruits

 

HOW TO ENJOY EATING HALAL YOGURT WITH FRUITS

As you know most yogurts with fruits are not Halal due to presence of kosher gelatin which is made from pork or non zabiha beef or natural or artificial flavor containing alcohol as a solvent. But there is a way to enjoy Halal yogurt with fruits by mixing Halal plain yogurt with Halal Jams or Halal Jellies or canned or fresh fruits. This is the only way because there is no Halal yogurts with fruits in supermarkets.

Posted on: 03-09-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Frequently Asked Questions

 Frequently Asked Questions

 

 

 

1. What is Mono & Diglycerides:

 

Mono & Diglycerides are fat based emulsifier and are made by reacting glycerol (fat based) with fats and oils. Monoglycerides can be made from beef or pork or soybean fat. Only soybean and zabiha slaughtered cow fat based Mono & Diglyceries are Halal. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) on a food package containing Mono & Diglycerides indicates that it is obtained from soybean fat.

 

2. Is Whey a Halal ingredient?

 

Muslims think that whey is milk based ingredient, it has to be Halal but answer is no. There are two kinds of whey, one is sweet or rennet whey and other is acid whey. Acid whey is obtained during the making of acid type of cheese such as cottage cheese. Sweet or rennet whey is used more in food products then acid whey. Sweet whey or rennet whey is a by-product of rennet cheese making such as cheddar cheese or Mozzarella cheese.

 

Whey is portion of milk remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. Whey is Halal only if the Halal starter culture bacteria, Halal medium on which starter culture grown (Starter culture bacteria are Halal if they obtained from milk source not meat source and media on which these starter culture bacteria grown has to be made from Halal ingredients such milk). These requirements can only obtained if the cheese and whey are Halal or Kosher certified (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements). A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing whey indicates that it is manufactured under Halal or Kosher supervision.

 

3. FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 colors:

 

FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 are chemical dyes and they are Halal if use as pure granular or powder form but if the FD&C colors are required to make in liquid form then a solvent is needed to make FD&C colors in liquid form. Liquid FD&C colors are used in liquid foods such as soft drinks. Vegetable oil or glycerin is used to make liquid artificial colors. Liquid  FD&C colors are Halal only if vegetable oil or soy fat based glycerin is used. If glycerin is obtained from pork fat then liquid FD&C colors will be Haram. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing these colors indicates that no pork or beef fat glycerin was used as a solvent.

 

4. Halal status of L-Cysteine:

 

L-Cysteine is a essential amino acid and it is used as dough conditioner in bagels, pizza, bread, hard rolls. If L-Cysteine is manufactured from human hair then it will be Haram. If it is obtained from non zabiha or dead chicken/duck feathers then it will not be Halal. Halal L-Cysteine is made from synthetic sources and Halal fermented process MCG considered it Halal if it is made from either synthetic or fermentation sources.

 

5. Are all apple juice brands Halal?

 

No, only those apple juice brands which bear a Kosher symbol on the container are considered Halal because it indicates no pork gelatin is used as filtering material for a clear apple juice. There are some apple juice manufacturer who still used pork or beef gelatin in apple juice processing.

 

6. Are all natural or artificial flavors Halal?

 

No, in order for a natural or artificial flavor to be Halal, it has to be made from Halal flavoring material and a Halal solvent such vegetable oil or propylene glycol l is used. If ethyl alcohol is used a solvent then MCG will not considered it Halal according MCG ulema. If a Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing natural or artificial flavor indicates that it is manufactured from Halal flavoring material but ethyl alcohol may or may not use as a solvent. It requires further investigation from food manufacturer to confirm that no alcohol is used as a solvent.

 

7. Halal Status of chocolate Liquor:

 

Chocolate Liquor is manufactured from grinding the cocoa nibs from cocoa bean. It is a Halal ingredient and do not contain any liquor or alcohol.

 

8. Is Vanilla Extract a Halal ingredient?

 

No, Vanilla Extract is used as a flavor and it is made from vanilla bean extract. It contains minimum of 35% ethyl alcohol otherwise it will not call as vanilla extract according FDA regulation.

 

9. Halal status of Yeast Extract or autolyzed Yeast:

 

If the yeast extract or autolyzed yeast is made from baker’s yeast then it is a Halal ingredient. But if it is made from brewer’s yeast as a by-product of beer making then it is not considered as Halal because beer can penetrate in the yeast cells and never convert to any other things. Autolyzed Yeast Extract or Yeast Extract from beer is use mostly in cheese and crackers to provide bitterness according to food industry experts. Autolyzed Yeast Extract from baker yeast is used in food products such as soups and other products to give meaty taste without adding meat.

 

10. Which Vinegar is considered as Halal?

 

Distilled white vinegar, apple cider vinegar, malt vinegar, corn (Maize) sugar vinegar are considered Halal. Wine Vinegar and Balsamic vinegar are not considered Halal because of left over of wine in wine vinegar and high content sugar containing grape in Italy which in turn provide more alcohol is available to convert it to vinegar.

 

11. Processing Aid Ingredients or Hidden ingredients in food products and food ingredients:

 

FDA will allow up to 2% of processing aid ingredients or hidden ingredients in a food product or in a food ingredient without reporting in the ingredients statement. Only Halal or Kosher certified food products which meet the Islamic dietary requirements protect Muslim consumers from Haram processing aid ingredients or hidden ingredients. Example of Hidden ingredients are use of pork gelatin in apple juice processing, gelatin in Beta carotene, Polysorbate 80 (a fat based emulsifier) in vitamins mix for milk fortification.

 

12a.What are ingredients of Halal Soy Sauce?

 

 All purpose soy sauce or non naturally brewed soy sauce is a Halal soy sauce made from water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup and sodium benzoate.

 

12b. What are ingredients of Haram Soy Sauce?

 

The Naturally Brewed Soy is the Haram soy sauce. It is made just like wine containing 2-3% alcohol. The ingredients list contains Wheat, Soy and other ingredients. Food companies do not mentioned Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce name under the ingredients statement, they just mentioned soy sauce but within parenthesis they write Wheat and Soy. This is the only way to find out Haram Soy Sauce.

 

13. What is Torula Yeast, is it Halal?

 

Torula Yeast has capacity to utilize pentose sugars. It is not use in making bread or beer or wine. It is grown on a refined sugar feed stocks such as cane sugar, corn syrup, glucose, or alcohol. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol to manufacture Nucleotides for infant formula and this is the reason Nucleotide is not a Halal ingredients.

 

14. Vanilla Bean Specks

 

Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in food industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive so many ice cream manufacturer do not use this type of vanilla bean specks. Our ulema consider vanilla bean specks as not Halal if it is obtain after alcohol extraction because alcohol is used on vanilla beans to get vanilla flavor and it is contaminated the Halal vanilla bean seeds.

 

15. Fat based E-Numbers such as E-Number 471, 472, 472e

 

E-numbers 471-472 are mushbooh because they can be made with pork fat and soybean fat. They are Halal if made with soybean fat only manufacturer know the source. But if a claim " Suitable For Vegetarian" appears on a food product package in Europe the it means these E-Numbers are obtained from soybean or vegetable fat.

 

16. Gelatin

 

Gelatin is Halal only if it is a fish gelatin or if gelatin is made from zabiha slaughtered cow.

 

17. Kosher Gelatin

 

Kosher gelatin is not Halal because it is made either from pork or non zabiha beef. Kosher gelatin is Haram if it is made from pig.

 

18. Cochineal or Carmine

 

Carmine or Cochineal is a red color made from red female beetle in South America. All in insects except locust are Haram under Hanafi fiqah.

 

19. Nucleotides

 

Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea.

 

20. Confectionery Glaze

 

Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated. MCG do not consider it as a Halal ingredient.

 

21. Brewer Yeast

 

Brewer Yeast is used in beer making. After beer making it is separated from beer, washed dries and use in food products. MCG do not consider it Halal because alcohol during beer making penetrate inside brewer cell and will not convert into new thing.

 

Posted on: 02-12-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Suagar Alcohol

Sugar Alcohols

Sugar alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrates. Many Muslim consumers has asked us about Halal status of sugar alcohols in Questions and Answers section of our website. We answered them in the above section. So we decided to explain about them in News section of our website. The sugar alcohols are made from plant carbohydrates except Lactitol which can be made from sucrose or whey's lactose or milk sugar  and all the sugar alcohols are Halal  except Erythritol and if Lactittol  is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal. There is no ethyl alcohol present in them. Alcohol is just the name because of chemical formulas. FDA recognized sugar alcohols as GRAS(Generally Recognized As Safe). Sugar alcohols are not artificial sweeteners technically and slightly lower in calories compare to sugar. The most important use of them is in chewing gums, sugar free candiaes and cookies because they do not cause tooth decay and good for diabetes because on consuming them the blood sugar will not increase. The most important sugar alcohols are Sorbitol or Glucitol, Xylitol, Lactitol, Mannitol, Maltitol, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates, Isomalt, . No bone char is used in sugar alcohols as compare to sugar. Sugar alcohols are slow fermented carbohydrate than sugar. Sugar alcohols are not fermented by oral bacteria in mouth, this is determind by FDA through McNail company’s research. Sorbitol, Mannitol, Maltitol and Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates are manufactured from cornstarch. Xylitol is manufactured from corn cobs, sugar cane bagasse, birch wood waste.

Lactitol is made from sucrose and whey. When Lactitol is manufactured from sweet whey then we have to be very careful about it. Whey has to be Halal or kosher certified otherwise Lactitol will not be Halal if it is manufactured from sweet whey which is obtained from animal rennet whey. Even if it is obtained from acid whey the starter culture bacteria and starter culture media upon the bacteria grow has to be Halal. If a Halal or kosher symbol appears on a food product package containing Lactitol, it means lactitol is either made from sucrose or Halal or kosher certified whey.

Erythritol is obtined either cornstarch or fruits through alcoholic fermentation because there is no lactic acid ferementation to be Halal. Sugar alcohol Erythritol is not consider Halal.

Lactitol is considered as Mushbooh and depond upon the Halal or kosher status of rennet whey and acid whey.

 

 

Posted on: 01-25-11 00:00 AM