Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information
image
Search 
  Canadian Halal Food
         * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:





Recent Questions:

  • Celebration mini chip chocolate cookies is halal or not? - Syara dilya
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    10-02-16 01:30:19
  • Are crispy roti and its ingredients halal in bc ?? - Arif iqbal
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    10-01-16 23:21:35
  • selamun aleykum I want to know cheese snack kraft amooza twist mozeralla-cheddar is it helal or haram thank you your answering - MUCAHIT
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-30-16 22:03:00
  • Webber naturals vitamins contain gelatin or not ? - Amal
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-27-16 19:29:50
  • Is A&W halal? Also is there a way I can have a list of canadian halal products and restaurants emailed to me so I can keep track of halal ? Thanks. - Kim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-27-16 12:41:12
  • Is mcgavin's bread halal? - sadaf
  • AOA

    I need ingredients statement to tell you whether it is Halal or not.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-16 09:56:08
  • Petroleum based product which are using in packaging materials i.e PET (Polyethylene terephthalate) is halal?) - ghulam hussain
  • AOA

    They are Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-26-16 03:17:11
  • Which icecreams are halal In Canada? - Farheen
  • AOA

    Search Category: Food Products

    Search results for the term: ice cream

    Total results generated: 19
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal Chocolate Ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen Dazs   Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Chocolate Ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen- Dazs   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen- Dazs   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Coffee Ice Cream ice Cream Haagen Dazs   Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Coffee Ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen- Dazs   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Half Fat Lemon ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen- Dazs   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Ice Cream Cup 3.5 Oz Ice Cream Cup Joy Information is provided by Br. Syed. Wal-Mart Super Center 2016-04-07
    halal Ice Cream Cups Ice Cream Cups Selection   Metro Supermarket (Old Dominion) 2012-10-16
    halal Ice Cream Cups Ice Cream Cups Compliments Good day Nsyed, Thank you for contacting Compliments Customer Care regarding our Ice Cream Cone products. Our Waffle Bowls (55742 51393), Ice Cream Cups (55742 50314), Ice Cream Cups Assorted Colours (55742 50316) and our Mini Ice Cream Cups (55742 52298) do not contain any alcohol and are certified Kosher. Each of these product has the Kosher certification stamp on the back of the package, indicated by the letter "K" in a star. Once again thank you for contacting us, and please do not hesitate to contact us again at the toll-free number or e-mail address below for any questions or comments on any of our Compliments products. Kind regards, Stéphanie Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2016-04-07
    halal Ice Cream Cups Assorted Colors Ice Cream Cups Compliments Good day Nsyed, Thank you for contacting Compliments Customer Care regarding our Ice Cream Cone products. Our Waffle Bowls (55742 51393), Ice Cream Cups (55742 50314), Ice Cream Cups Assorted Colours (55742 50316) and our Mini Ice Cream Cups (55742 52298) do not contain any alcohol and are certified Kosher. Each of these product has the Kosher certification stamp on the back of the package, indicated by the letter "K" in a star. Once again thank you for contacting us, and please do not hesitate to contact us again at the toll-free number or e-mail address below for any questions or comments on any of our Compliments products. Kind regards, Stéphanie Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2016-04-07
    halal Ice Cream Waffle Bowls Ice Cream Bowls Keebler   Wal-Mart Super Center 2012-10-16
    halal Ice Cream Waffle Cones ice Cream Cones Keebler   Wal-Mart Super Center 2012-10-16
    halal Mini Ice Cream Cones Ice Cream Cones Selection   Metro Supermarket (Old Dominion) 2012-10-16
    halal Mini Ice Cream Cups Ice Cream Cups Compliments Good day Nsyed, Thank you for contacting Compliments Customer Care regarding our Ice Cream Cone products. Our Waffle Bowls (55742 51393), Ice Cream Cups (55742 50314), Ice Cream Cups Assorted Colours (55742 50316) and our Mini Ice Cream Cups (55742 52298) do not contain any alcohol and are certified Kosher. Each of these product has the Kosher certification stamp on the back of the package, indicated by the letter "K" in a star. Once again thank you for contacting us, and please do not hesitate to contact us again at the toll-free number or e-mail address below for any questions or comments on any of our Compliments products. Kind regards, Stéphanie Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2016-04-07
    halal Nestle Chocolate Peanut Butter, Coffee, Strawberry, Chocolate Ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen - Dazs   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2014-05-27
    halal Perfect Peach Ice Cream Ice Cream Great Value No Flavor. Wal-Mart Super Center 2014-12-31
    halal Strawberry ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen Dazs   Food Basic Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Strawberry Ice Cream Ice Cream Haagen- Dazs   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Sugar Cone For ice Cream Ice Cream Sugar Cones Selection   Metro Supermarket (Old Dominion) 2012-10-16

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-25-16 16:13:07
  • Are DQ icecreams halal? - Farheen
  • AOA

    Non of the product from Dairy Queen is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-25-16 16:04:21
  • Is Quaker caramel nut Granola Bars halal? In the ingredients it says it contains glycerin.. so would it be halal or not? - kinza basit
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-25-16 14:59:21
  • is pillsbury traditional yellow cake mix halal - ambreen
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-25-16 08:46:06
  • Can we use Rubbing Alcohol in cleaning products? - Shum
  • AOA

    But after its use you have to wash the product several times with water so it will be completley wash away.


    Category: General Question
    09-24-16 21:46:37
  • Assalamualikum, Is Kirkland formula forte women multivitamin are halal? - nabeela shahid
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-24-16 18:28:29
  • is o henry halal - Zarar
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: Ohenry

    Total results generated: 2
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    exclaim Kisses, OHenry, Skore, Reeses Minies Chocolate Hershey Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor. Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper) 2015-02-19
    exclaim Ohenry Chocolate Chocolate Hershey Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-24-16 17:08:19
  • Can we use a cover girl and Revlon and Mac cosmetic replay plz - amber
  • AOA

    Please check our cosmetic subsection under non food section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-23-16 14:28:22
  • Is krispy kreme donuts halal? - Lyba
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because made with alcohol containing flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-16 12:45:20
  • Assalamualaikum, I bought Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil Brand: Kordel's, Ingredients: It states that Softgel Capsule (Gelatine [Bovine]. Is this Halal? - AMRAM JAYA
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    Halal Fish Oil:

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 5
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA Maxigel   Fish Oil Maxi Health   05-05-14
    halal Omega 3 Premium Fish Oil Maximum Strength EPA/DHA 180 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin)   Fish oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

    Category: Food Products
    09-23-16 04:31:17
  • Tim Hortons products are they halal especially donuts andcookies - Amine
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-16 23:19:05
  • Is Tim Horton's White Hot Chocolate beverage halal? - Layla Hassan
  • AOA

    It is not Halal only 100% coffee or tea is Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-22-16 17:56:33
  • Asalaam , found some yogurt drink in an islamic Store made by nanak company . I would like to know more about the product. Thanks - Taibat
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-16 10:12:29
  • Are black diamond cheese strings haram? If so, are there any halal cheese string brand? - Mustafa
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. None of Black Diamond cheese is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    09-21-16 12:52:25
  • Salam i sent the following questions to wonder bread and got the answer , so posting here both. I think i can use this product now , what do you say about it.?? Question:: Hello, I would like to know if new Wonder white wrap has any of following. 1. Any animal derived ingredients 2.if alcohol was used in making or any other processes related to making it. I would appreciate your quick response. Than you, Suma Answer: Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to inquire about our products. The oil and fat-based ingredients used in our products are vegetable-based and contain no animal by-products or alcohol. The mono and diglycerides is of vegetable source. Should you have any further questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact me. Sincerely, Joanne Sanchez Customer Care Center | Consumer Care Weston Bakeries Limited - Suma
  • AOA

    Wonder bread is Halal it was reported on our website but you did not search them:

    Search results for the term: Wonder

    Total results generated: 12
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal 100% Whole Wheat Bread, White Bread, White + Fiber Bread, White Texas Bread, 100% Whole Wheat Texas Bread Wonder   No Frill Supermarket 2014-08-13
    halal 8 Hot Dog Buns, 8 Hamburger Buns, 100% Whole Wheat Hot Dog Buns, Big Hot Dog Buns Hot Dog Buns and Hamburger Buns Wonder   No Frill Supermarket 2014-08-13
    halal Classic White Bread Bread Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal D' Italiano Bread Bread Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Hamburger Buns Hamburger Buns Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Hamburger Buns and Hot Dog Buns Buns Wonder   Real Canadian Superstore 2014-05-22
    halal Hot Dog Buns Hot Dog Buns Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Invisible Soft Bread Bread Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Smooth Multigrain Bread Bread Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Soft White Loaf Bread Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Texas Toast Bread Bread Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16
    halal Texas Toast White with Fiber Bread Bread Wonder   Loblaws Supermarket 2012-10-16

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-21-16 08:29:54
  • equate Calcium Vitamin D 200IU and equate D for kids 400IU both are Halal or Haram Tablets - Rajab
  • AOA

    It is not Halal. Please use this calcium which I consumed daiily:

    halal Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D   Vitamins Solgar Solgar Calcium Citrate With Vitamin D3 60 TAB SL-432 UPC 03398004320 AVIALBALE AT VITAMINS STORES SUCH AS VITAMIN SHOPPEE 06-07-13

    or get from www.koshervitamins.com


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-20-16 01:45:48
  • I have been told that the chicken is halal in Quebec or Canada (I do not remember). Is that right? - Amal Lama
  • AOA

    No, it is not Halal. Chicken is Halal only if it is hand slaughtered by a Muslim.


    Category: General Question
    09-19-16 08:13:50
  • is Ferro Rocher choclate sold in Canada halal. - Nasir Ahmedabadi
  • AOA

    Please search on our website and it is listed.


    Category: Food Products
    09-18-16 20:23:41
  • Is the equate brand Omega-3 supplements Halal, Kosher, or Haram? It says that it contains Gelatin so just making sure. Please and Thank you - Aamer Quadri
  • AOA

    It is not Halal product. Muslim advised not eat a food or vitamins containing gelatin because there is no Halal gelatin in US and Canada:

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-17-16 16:27:25
  • Is pizza pops halal? - Aisha
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-17-16 15:30:41
  • are the eggs that we get from wallmart ,superstore, and other grocery store . are halal in canada and america - nazia najib
  • AOA

    They are Halal.


    Category: General Question
    09-17-16 15:15:52
  • Are Kool Aid and Betty Crocker HALAL? Which products of these two brands are not halal? - Rimsha khan
  • AOA

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-16-16 11:17:34
  • is whey powder in chocoba chocolate hala? - zarina
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-14-16 15:21:29
  • Is the whey, whey permeate and mono and diglycerides in the cookies halal? - Kirkland Signature European Cookies w/ Belgium Milk Chocolate, Dark Chocolate, and White Chocolate
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-14-16 10:33:26
  • Assalam Alikom I want to ask about Atkins bars and shakes that are made in USA or Canada are they Halal. I live in Saudi Arabia and I contacted them and they said that the products of Europe are Halal. However I want to buy them online and the one I found are products of USA or Canada. Please advise! Thank you - Hend
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-14-16 02:19:54
  • Assalamu alaikum Brother Rashid Ahmed Can you plz Inform if HEINZ APPLE CIDER VINEGAR is halal in Canada, it has Kosher sign on it n I don't see any other information regarding ingredients n so on n also do u know if there is any halal apple cider vinegar available in Canada? Will wait for ur reply as I need to make an herbal medicine for my father with this. Jazakallahu khair wassalam. - Fatima
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-13-16 20:11:04
  • Dear sir Iso-propyl alcohol is a solvent and is used for carrageenan extraction which is then used in ice creams etc. As you know isopropyl alcohol is not the drinking alcohol but is called an alcohol due to organic chemistry classification and that if someone were to drink it he would be killed as it is a poison. However after carrageenan extraction it is recovered and recycled in the process stream. Please advise if carrageenan so made would render the food item Haraam. Best regards and Salaams Mujtaba - Mujtaba Iqbal
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: isopropyl alcohol

    Total results generated: 3
    New Title Description Date
    Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken it out completely is Halal

    What is Isopropyl Alcohol

    Isopropyl alcohol (isopropanol, 2-propanol, propan-2-ol) is commonly used as a disinfectant, antifreeze, and solvent, and typically comprises 70 percent of "rubbing alcohol." People ingest isopropyl alcohol to become intoxicated (ie, ethanol substitute) or to harm themselves. When ingested, isopropyl alcohol functions primarily as a central nervous system (CNS) inebriant and depressant, and its toxicity and treatment resemble that of ethanol.

    Isopropyl Alcohol Manufacturing

    Isopropyl alcohol is made from fossil fuels that are processed through a hydration process where the propene derived from the fossil fuel is combined with water causing a chemical reaction. Distillation then occurs to process out any byproducts to form pure isopropyl alcohol. This can then be mixed back with a percent of distilled water or sold in pure form. It can also be used as ingredient in healthcare or cleaning products at this point.

    What is the Difference Between Ethyl Alcohol and Isopropyl Alcohol

    Although both are forms of alcohol, ethyl alcohol and Isopropyl alcohol have more differences than similarities. The differences begin at the sources they are made from. Ethel alcohol is most commonly derived from corn and isopropyl alcohol is derived from propene which can come from fossil fuels such as coal, petroleum or natural gas. Ethyl alcohol is subject to an excise tax by the federal government according to its percent proof. Isopropyl alcohol is only subject to sales tax.

    MCG 's ulema Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan consider Isopropyl alcohol as intoxicant and Haram if use in food product or any non food product.

    ( http://www.ehow.com/info_8032957_difference-ethyl-alcohol-isopropyl-alcohol.html)

    Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal

    Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal.

    Following are the responses from different food companies about use of use of Isopropyl alcohol:

    Ceamsa:

    I am pleased to tell you that we do not use ethanol, but only  isopropanol in the process of our refined carrageenan and pectin products. This is a processing aid, that is completely removed at the end

    of the process and therefore their will be NO traces in the final product.

    Best regards

     

    Karen Laustsen

    Director R&D and Technical Customer Service

     Phone: +34986344089

    Fax: +34986336621

    Email: klaustsen@ceamsa.com

    www.ceamsa.com

    Hydrocolloids:

    Hi

    Isopropyl alcohol is used for pectin. The carrageenan is produced using isopropyl as well as KCL depending on the type of carrageenan or neither.

     

    Thanks,

     

    John

    Andros Foods USA, Inc.

    Dear Mr. Ahmed,

    Sorry for the delay in my response but I was waiting to received confirmation from our headquarters in France.  This is what I received:

    We confirm that no alcohol is used in the manufacturing of the Pectin used in Bonne Maman.  

    I hope you can feel confident in purchasing and enjoying Bonne Maman.

     

    Sharon

    Andros Foods USA, Inc.

    www.bonnemaman.us

    Prinova USA

     

    Hello,

     

    Thank you for your question, the Pectin we distribute uses Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing. If you have any other questions please let me know.

     

    Thank you,

     

    Zach Savino, Marketing Assistant

    Prinova USA
    315 E. Fullerton Avenue, Carol Stream, IL 60188

     

    HERBSTREITH & FOX, INC.

    Dear Mr. Ahmed

     In the production of our pectin products we use iso-propnaol. Please find attached our Halal Certificate for our products.

     Best regards,

     HERBSTREITH & FOX, INC.
    Frank Mattes
    President 
    f.mattes@herbstreith-fox.de

    CP Kelco:

    The technical person of CP Kelco Company has informed on the phone they use Isopropyl Alcohol to crystallized during the processing of Xanthan Gum and Isopropyl is completely taken out.

     

    PS: Please allow time for MCG to make changes on our website.

     

     

    12/07/1

    Category: Ingredients
    09-13-16 14:25:03
  • Is Tim Horton's Frappucinno halal? It comes in three different flavours: Mocha, Vanilla and Coffee. Which ones are halal. (They are also sold in supermarkets like Food Basic's) - Anonymous
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-13-16 14:02:57
  • Hello. I live in Toronto. I was wondering if McDonald's ice cream cone is halal for any Muslims to eat. - Anonymous
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-13-16 13:57:43
  • is the swedish fish soft and chewy candy halal - Michael Broadnax
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-13-16 12:04:59
  • What are the halal toothpaste available in Toronto. - Aisha Assad
  • AOA

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-12-16 16:44:41
  • jamieson salmon & fish oils Gels omega 3 complex Halal or haram please answer - Raja
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.

    Halal Fish Oil:

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 5
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA Maxigel   Fish Oil Maxi Health   05-05-14
    halal Omega 3 Premium Fish Oil Maximum Strength EPA/DHA 180 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin)   Fish oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

    Category: General Question
    09-10-16 23:51:21
  • Is mate is halal ...If so let me know of which company - Nazan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-10-16 09:09:21
  • Assalamualaikum, If using shezwaan chutney which is Chinese product is halal or haram.I read their ingridient which is listed on cover,there is no haram ingredient but in my mind there is doubt that mostly Chinese products are haram - Hamdan
  • AOA

    I have no information. But I advise not eat chinees food because they made with Haram Soy Sauce.


    Category: Food Products
    09-09-16 22:14:32
  • Need a list of halal meat and chicken products - Rizvi
  • AOA

    I do not research meat products.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-09-16 09:46:36
  • Please assist me in determining if Black Diamond Marbelicious Cheesestrings are Halal. I am purchasing snacks for a school snack program and we have a very large population of students who eat Halal. Here is a link to their website: http://www.blackdiamond.ca/our-cheeses/cheese-snacks/marbelicious-cheestrings/ Thank you very much Brandon McPhail - Brandon McPhail
  • AOA

    Non of Black Diamond cheese products are Halal because they do not have Kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Food Products
    09-07-16 13:25:51
  • From where I can buy halal fish oil soft gels and multivitamins - Bimla khalid
  • AOA

    None from anywhere except from:

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 5
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA Maxigel   Fish Oil Maxi Health   05-05-14
    halal Omega 3 Premium Fish Oil Maximum Strength EPA/DHA 180 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin)   Fish oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels   Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

    Category: General Question
    09-06-16 16:14:32
  • Hi I want to know is nestle carnation evaporated milk is halal thanks - Mohammed A Bashir
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: evaporated milk

    Total results generated: 7
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket Date
    halal 2% Milkfat Partly Skimmed Evaporated Milk Evaporated Milk Carnation Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal. According to Carnation Isopropyl Alcohol was during the processing of Carrageenan. July 2014 Food Basic Supermarket 2015-01-27
    halal Evaporated Milk Evaporated Milk Carnation Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal. According to Carnation Isopropyl Alcohol was during the processing of Carrageenan. July 2014 Costco Warehouse 2015-01-27
    halal Evaporated Milk Evaporated Milk Carnation Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal. According to Carnation Isopropyl Alcohol was during the processing of Carrageenan. July 2014 Food Basic Supermarket 2015-01-27
    halal Evaporated Milk, 2% Milkfat Partially Skimmed Evaported Milk Evaporated Milk Carnation Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal. No Frill Supermarket 2015-01-27
    halal Evaporated Partly Skimmed Evaporated Milk Evaporated Milk Carnation Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal. According to Carnation Isopropyl Alcohol was during the processing of Carrageenan. July 2014 Food Basic Supermarket 2015-01-27
    halal Fat Free Evaporated Milk Evaporated Milk Carnation Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal. According to Carnation Isopropyl Alcohol was during the processing of Carrageenan. July 2014 Food Basic Supermarket 2015-01-27
    halal Fat Free Evaporated Milk Fat Free Evaporated Milk Carnation Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal. Wal-Mart Super Center 2015-01-27

    Category: Ingredients
    09-05-16 23:19:23
  • can i now about supplements . that supplement comes from Canada . I need to know whether it halal or not. the supplements name is concrete mass . - muhd nor fikri
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-05-16 01:26:10
  • is your gelatin in compliments marshmallows made from beef or pork? thankyou - claudette
  • AOA

    Mostly from pork. Muslims are not allow eat any food containing gelatin except if it is a fish gelatin:

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-04-16 18:09:30
  • Grape seed oil and extract found in cosmetic products such as lipsticks and blushes are they halal. Afterglow cosmetics is natural, vegan and organic that contain grape seed oil/extract in their products. - Diana
  • AOA

    Grapeseeds oil and extract are not Halal.

    \"haram\" Grape Seed Extract Grain and plant based ingredients Grape Seed Extract is not Halal because seeds are typically obtained from grape seeds waste of wineries or after wine making.
    \"haram\" Grape Skin Powder Grain & Plant based Ingredients Grape Skin Powder is not Halal because grape skin are typically obtained from grape waste of wineries or after wine making. Grape Skin Powder is not Halal because grape skin are typically obtained from grape waste of wineries or after wine making.

    Search results for the term: grape seed oil

    Total results generated: 1
    Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
    \"haram\" Grapeseed oil Grain & Plant based Ingredients The source of grape seeds is not from grape because in order to obtained the grape seeds from grapes you have to destroy grapes which can be used for table grape purpose. So the only source of grape seeds is from when grapes is used to make wine. Wine does not contain grape seeds because non Muslims can not drink it. So they have to filter the grape seeds and it is utilized in making grape seed extract and grape seed oil. Both are not Halal.

    HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS


    \"Symbol: Halal   \"Symbol: Not Halal   \"Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown   \"Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   \"Symbol: MCG Certified Halal

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-03-16 11:21:44
  • I would like to know if Afterglow cosmetics, which is a natural and organic cosmetic line is halal. This includes eye shadows, lipsticks and lip glosses, blushes and foundations. Barakallah fik. - Diana
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: afterglow

    Total results generated: 1
    Category Name UPS Code Brand Description
    Cosmetic Pencil liners, Lipstick, Mascara, Cosmetic Brushes Afterglow The products are made without alcohol and without animal derived ingredients.Look for cochineal if present then it is not Halal

    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-03-16 03:37:15
  • Jamieson wild salmon & fish oils are they halal? I inquired about the "Gelatin" used & got following reply -----Original Message----- From: Rachelle Bellamy [mailto:rbellamy@jamiesonlabs.com] On Behalf Of Consumer Affairs Sent: 2015, November, 27 2:37 PM To: Nafis, Aamir (Finance) Cc: Consumer Affairs Subject: RE: [Jamieson] Contact Form from November 27 at11:39AM Dear Aamir, Thank you for contacting Jamieson's Consumer Affairs department regarding our Wild Salmon and Fish Oils Omega-3 Complex. This product contains beef gelatin. You are correct, this product is not Halal certified. However, the beef gelatin used in the softgel is Halal. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated and will be documented. It will also be included in an internal report log of all consumer and quality related product issues. This report is forwarded to all appropriate departments, including our Marketing as well as Product Development department for review. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to send us an email or call our consumer affairs information line at 1 800 265 5088. Your continuous interest and support of Jamieson is very much appreciated. Sincerely, Rachelle Bellamy Consumer Affairs Representative Jamieson Laboratories 4025 Rhodes Drive Windsor, Ontario, Canada N8W 5B5 Toll Free: 1-800-265-5088 E: consumeraffairs@jamiesonlabs.com jamiesonvitamins.com - Aamir Nafis
  • AOA

    Many Ulema do not consider Non Zabiha beef as Halal but consider as Haram.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: General Question
    08-31-16 07:27:12
  • Like to know if "Mr.Noodles" Spicy Beef Flavour Instant Noodles or "Mr. Noodles" Chicken Flavour Instant Noodles are Halal. - Aamir Nafis
  • AOA

    They are not Halal Muslims should not consume them.


    Category: Food Products
    08-31-16 07:09:21
  • Assalamu alikum. I'm from Vancouver Canada . Plz let me know is old mill bread halal or haram ? jazakallahu hairan - Mohamed Rizan
  • AOA

    You have to confirm from company the dough conditioners they use are from vegetable fat.


    Category: General Question
    08-31-16 00:36:25
  • Assalam Aleikum, in your answer you said that if the milk used in the Atorvastatin drug to stick ‎ingredients together is powder then it is Halal. But in your site there are a lot of liquid milk ‎products which are halal and we use them every day. They are not powder but Halal. Please advise.‎ - Jalal
  • AOA

    Any liquid milk from any brand and powdered milk from any brand with kosher symbol are Halal in USA and Canada.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-28-16 22:43:00
  • Is Australian lamb sold at Costco halal? The label indicates McPhee Bros and their certificate number is 612. - Maitham Shams
  • AOA

    I do not trust Australian Lamb in Costcto even if they breally Halal but the package will damage so they have to repack in area where pork is also cut and processs.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    08-28-16 19:38:45
  • Assalam Aleikum, my doctor prescribed to me ATORVASTATIN for the cholesterol and he ‎checked the ingredients with the drug line and they advised him that it has ‎no animal nor alcohol ‎substances. It has only milk to stick the components together‎.‎ Is it in this case halal? Can I use it.‎ Please advise. So many thanks. - Jalal
  • AOA

    If liquid milk or powdered milk with kosher symbol was used then it is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-28-16 18:07:38
  • black diamond mozareella cheese is halal or haram? - farah
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because there is no Kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Food Products
    08-27-16 21:29:14
  • Hi, My doctor prescribed to me ATORVASTATIN: for the cholesterol. My doctor checked the ingredients with the drug line and they advised him that it has ‎no animal nor alcohol substances. It has only milk to stick the components together‎ (I think they mean Lactose). Is it haram in this case? If yes, do you know of any halal alternative to it? Can I use it? Please advise. Jalal - Jalal
  • AOA

    Please find out what type milk product they use if it is milk powder then you can use. Lactose has to be kosher certified be use as Halal. I have no alternate for it.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-27-16 21:13:10
  • Do you know anything about Madina Halal Vitamins. https://madinavitamins.ca/madina-vitamins-blog/ - Syed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    08-27-16 01:41:10
  • Assalam Alaikum: Can you please advise, if: 1) "NO NAME" 100% GRATED PARMESAN CHEESE" by Loblaws is Halal, and, 2) Is any brand of Feta Cheese Halal? J.A.K. Safra C. - Safra Chand
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-25-16 14:43:41
  • Nature's bounty hair,nails and skin vitamins are they halal. - Shamim
  • AOA

    They are not Halal:

    haram All Vitamins   Vitamins Nature's Bounty A brother has provided this information about vitamins which used non zabiha beef gelatin. Date: Tue, 29 Jul 2014 15:50:45 +0000> From: info@naturesbounty.com> To: mohsin> Subject: Thank you for your interest in Nature's Bounty!> > Case No. 623539> > Dear Mohsin, > > Thank you for contacting Nature’s Bounty. The source of gelatin in the Fish Oil 1200mg (Prod No. 13102, B35857) is bovine (cow). This product is free of pork.> > If you have any further questions, our Consumer Affairs Representatives can be reached toll-free at 1-800-433-2990, Monday through Saturday, 9am-7pm EST. We look forward to serving you in the future. > > Kindest regards,> > Natalie > Customer Care Department> http://www.naturesbounty.com> www.facebook.com/NaturesBountyVitamins> 03-12-15

    Category: E-Numbers
    08-25-16 07:59:04
  • Hair and nail vitamin - Shamim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    08-25-16 07:54:40
  • Halal hand lotions,,n body wash please at walmart - Ali
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-23-16 21:12:33
  • Is feta cheese halal in pizza hut? - Senan
  • AOA

    First of all Pizza Hut cheese pizza is not Halal and so does the feta cheese.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-23-16 20:23:10
  • Looking for a supplier of halal prenatal vitamins& mineral formula. - Lane Casement
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: prenatal

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name UPS Code Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Prenatal Caps, Prenatal Tabs, Omega-3 Premium 180’s with Fish Gelatin Softgel   Prenatal Vitamins Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Zahlers Kosher Total One Prenatal 120 Capsules   Prenatal Vitamins Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com 10-26-13
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Prenatal Caps One Per Day 120 MaxiCaps   Prenatal Vitamins Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Prenatal Caps Once Daily 90 Vegetarian Capsules   Prenatal Vitamins Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Zahlers Kosher Total One Prenatal 60 Capsules   Prenatal Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Landau Kosher Prenatal 250 TAB   Prenatal Vitamins Landau Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-23-16 11:40:01
  • Hi salam furlani garlic breads are halal or not - Tala
  • AOA

    It is not Halal. There is no Halal garlic bread in Canada and USA.


    Category: Food Products
    08-23-16 10:06:04
  • Please advise the E-Number for Malt extract, corn starch and if they are halal products - Muriuki
  • AOA

    They both are Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-22-16 19:59:56
  • Is timhortons coffe and caffienated - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it is 100% coffee without any flavor then it is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-22-16 15:46:20
  • What brands shampoo and conditioners are hahal - Cheryl bacchus
  • AOA

    Please search our website.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-21-16 08:10:07
  • I am planning to settle in ON, Canada soon. How can I start Halal Poultry/chicken and mutton (fresh )in On. Canada. What are formalities to be completed, procedure and for medium scale business how much capital is required. Kindly reply on nawab@ilmcgroup.com - Nawab Hasan
  • AOA

    I am not business man sorry I can not help.


    Category: General Question
    08-21-16 00:26:39
  • Whiz chese in bottle Halal or not ? - Mrs Rashid
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-18-16 08:58:36
  • Assalam Aleikum, One of the medication my doctor prescribed for me has in its ingredients Lactose. Is it Haram? Please advise. - Jalal
  • AOA

    Total results generated: 1
    Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
    unknown Lactose Dairy Ingredients Lactose is milk sugar and obtained from whey during cheese making, so it has to be Halal or Kosher certified for its Halal status.

    Category: E-Numbers
    08-17-16 21:18:41
  • is halal gelatin available in Canada (for the medical usage) Thanks Riaz - Riaz
  • AOA

    No, only fish gelatin is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    08-17-16 16:41:24
  • I seen in your website that twix bar is halal. does that mean all variants of twix bar are halal as well. What about "Twix bites"? - Saad A
  • AOA

    If they have ingredients and a kosher symbol then they are Halal. They should not have Natural Flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    08-17-16 16:33:18
  • Assalam Aleikum, In your site you mentioned that Sun Rype products are not Halal because "No Halal or Kosher Symbol on the package.". I contacted the company and they confirmed that their products have no Alcohol and no animal substances and that they are kosher certified. My question is which one is right? your site or the company? What do you recommend me to do? Appreciate your answer. Jalal - Jalal
  • AOA

    Please ask them to mail you the Kosher certification.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-16-16 19:52:38
  • Assalalmaulaikum. Last time i have asked about Ultima IOGO yogourt. You told me that if it contains natural flavor then it's haram as there is hidden alcohol. I have sent an email to the company to ask about that. They replied that there is no detectable alcohol in their finished good. Can you please advise whether it is still haram. Thanks a lot for your answer - Nazir
  • AOA

    They did not reply to you that we do not use alcohol as a solvent in natural flavor. No detecatable alcohol means that use alcohol in asmall quantity so it can not be detectable. Again their products with flavor are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-16-16 18:46:38
  • Is compliments macaroni and cheese halal or haram? - Nabeela Siddique
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-16-16 18:38:56
  • Is no name vanille bars and sandwich ice cream halal? - Sarah
  • AOA

    They are not Halal. Vanilla is not a Halal ingredient.


    Category: Food Products
    08-16-16 08:13:58
  • Walmart sells Spring Valley fish oil gel caps. Is the gelatin used in this product coming from a halal source? - Zahid Qureshi
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

     

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-15-16 17:18:43
  • is kool aid halal please tell me if it has alcohal - zarar
  • AOA

    Please this e-mail to them:

    " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent".


    Category: Food Products
    08-15-16 08:46:35
  • Assalam Aleikum, I prepared below my question to a manufacturing company asking about their product. Can you tell me if my question is correct? Is there anything I need to add? So many thanks. "Hi, does the have any animal, insect, or alcohol substances or ingredients derived from ‎them? Whether directly or added through the manufacturing process as processing aid or hidden ‎ingredient? ‎ If yes, has it been converted to other different chemical substance after the manufacturing process?‎ Appreciate your response.‎" - Jalal
  • AOA

    Rules for Halal status:

    1. The first rule is the product must a have a kosher symbol.

    2.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED (NON MEAT) FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard):

    (1) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers, (2) Wine, (3) Liquor, (4) Beer batter, (5) Rum flavor, (6) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol or Alcohol as a main ingredient, (7) Cochineal or Carmine, (8) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (containing Wheat & Soy as ingredients), (9) Brewer’s Yeast or Brewer Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making, (10) Nucleotides ( Torula yeast is the as source of Nucleotides but it is grown on Alcohol)), (11) Pectin ( A Mashbooh ingredient, Alcohol may be used during processing for crystization so it needs investigation), (12) Vanilla Extract, (13) Wine Vinegar, (14) Balsamic Vinegar, (15) Natural or Artificial Flavor (If hidden ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent then it is not Halal), (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (Alcohol is used in both), (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol, (18) Carrageenan ( A Mashbooh ingredient,  if ethyl alcohol or Ethanol or Alcohol is used during its processing then it is not Halal), (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction), (20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract, (21) Gelatin (22) Kosher Gelatin.

     

    3. If it contains flavor:

    " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent".

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-14-16 17:20:20
  • sealtest chocolate milk is halal? - khalid
  • AOA

    Here is  how you search food products, ingredients, News, Alert, Chain Restaurants products, E-number, Non Food Products which includes Personal Care Products, Cosmetic and Medicine.

    How Food products can be searched:

    Please write the name of Food Product or its category or brand.

    Please write name in search column then you have choices to select this way:

    a. Food Product by Product Name

    b. Food Product by Category

    c. Food Product by brand name

    Then click " Show Only Halal"

    Then please search it.


    Category: Food Products
    08-12-16 09:27:12
  • 100 percent POM pomegranate are halal? - khalid
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-12-16 09:24:26
  • http://naturalfactors.com/product/calcium-factor-350-mg/ please give me details about gelatin ingredient in this product haram or halal - Afshan
  • AOA

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-12-16 00:17:41
  • Assalm Aleikum Wa Rahmat Allah wa Barakatoh, To make sure that the product is halal, is it enough asking the manufacturer if his product does not have any animal or alcohol substances? Whether directly or added through the ‎manufacturing process? ‎ Appreciate your response. - Jalal
  • AOA

    First requirement is the product must have a kosher symbol which meet Halal requirement. With Kosher symbol no animal fat based ingredients is used then second requirement is hidden alcohol in flavor.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED (NON MEAT) FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard):

    (1) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers, (2) Wine, (3) Liquor, (4) Beer batter, (5) Rum flavor, (6) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol or Alcohol as a main ingredient, (7) Cochineal or Carmine, (8) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (containing Wheat & Soy as ingredients), (9) Brewer’s Yeast or Brewer Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making, (10) Nucleotides ( Torula yeast is the as source of Nucleotides but it is grown on Alcohol)), (11) Pectin ( A Mashbooh ingredient, Alcohol may be used during processing for crystization so it needs investigation), (12) Vanilla Extract, (13) Wine Vinegar, (14) Balsamic Vinegar, (15) Natural or Artificial Flavor (If hidden ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent then it is not Halal), (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (Alcohol is used in both), (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol, (18) Carrageenan ( A Mashbooh ingredient,  if ethyl alcohol or Ethanol or Alcohol is used during its processing then it is not Halal), (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction), (20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract, (21) Gelatin (22) Kosher Gelatin.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-11-16 19:16:48
  • Assalam Aleikum, Some of the products you marked as HARAM and the reason you mentioned was "No Halal or Kosher Symbol". But is that a reason? There are thousands of Halal products and have no "Halal or Kosher Symbol" on them!!! Can you please explain? Many thanks. Jalal - Jalal
  • AOA

    It is not true there are few food products with kosher symbol are Halal due to it is made with simple ingredient. If a pita bread is made with Flour, Water, Yeast, Salt and sugar then you do not nead kosher symbol because no hidden ingredients are used.

    Kosher is must for many product because it protect Muslims from adding Haram hidden ingredients which do not appear under ingredients statement. For example during the processing of Apple Juice pork gelatin is used to take out fines particle of apple pulp. Under the ingredients statement it is said apple juice because FDA allows food manufacture to hide processing aid or hidden ingredient. Pork gelatin is a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient. This is reason MCG do not recommend Apple Juice without Kosher symbol.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-11-16 15:37:26
  • Is rice wine vinegar halal? I remember doing research a while back and concluded it was, but I would like to reconfirm that before I use it. - Birgitta
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because it is made with rice wine.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-11-16 13:16:46
  • In Canada are any of the Nestle candies Halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-10-16 06:53:01
  • Is "harvest crunch granola, honey nut cereal " halal or not? - fahad
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-09-16 17:55:04
  • Please kindly confirm that is Costco uncooked cheese pizza halal? I read the ingredients but not sure ! - Rubina
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because it is not kosher certified.


    Category: Food Products
    08-09-16 16:22:45
  • why iis halal meat less expensive - ken milne
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    08-09-16 10:06:30
  • Is Pringles sour cream and onion halal? - Ilsa Tambe
  • AOA

    They are not Halal:

    haram Sour Cream & Onion Potato Crisp 038000845000 Potato Chips Pringles From: Kellogg@cybercrs.net on behalf of consumersupport@kellogg.com< consumersupport@kellogg.com>rnSent: Tuesday, January 26, 2016 4:59 PM To: @hotmail.com Subject: Pringles Consumer Affairs Reference Number 029364028ArnA Muslim consumer has send this e-mail from Kellogg's. Thank you for contacting us. Your interest in Pringles® Chile Con Queso is greatly appreciated and we are happy to provide more information to you. Alcohol may be used in flavors as a processing aid but will not be present in the final food. Any residual alcohol will evaporate during our heating or baking steps. As each of our suppliers use different and proprietary processing methods, we are not able to share details regarding specific flavors we use.Thanks again, Abeer, for the time you took to contact us. If you have additional comments or a photo to send to us, click here. Please do not use your “reply” button to respond to this e-mail. Sincerely, Lisa C Consumer Specialist Consumer Affairs Reference Number: 029364028Arn 08-05-16

     


    Category: Food Products
    08-08-16 23:21:47
  • I am new to Canada and have visited some halal restaurants where they serve Canada Dry and mention it as Halal but your website says otherwise. Please help clarify. - Naeem
  • AOA

    I have e-mail from the company which wrote they use alcohol containing natural flavor in their products. It is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-08-16 20:57:37
  • Is bacterial culture is halal or not that is used in flavoured yougert.and also I have organic kids multivitamin but I am not sure what is the source for vitamin A - Fatima
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-08-16 12:03:06
  • Can I please have your email id as I want to forward product information as received. Regards, Sanobar - sanobar
  • AOA

    Halalfoods@hotmail.com


    Category: General Question
    08-07-16 20:32:41
  • i want to buy kefir grains, i don't know where to buy them. - feminbanu
  • AOA

    Kefir is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-07-16 17:12:55
  • aoa, ive read this on their (WET N WILD is brand name) website they claim in their FAQs that these cosmetic products are halal on their website here is the list and link to their website. so , can we use these products? 10 Are wet n wild® products vegan? Not 100% of our products are vegan, but we are striving towards making them all vegan friendly. Here is a list of our vegan products: A066-A068: To Reflect Shimmer Palette (A066 is not Vegan) A106-A110: Glam Maker 8-in-1 Beauty Balm SPT 15 A852: Take On the Day Mattifying Powder A114 – A116: Come Correct Celebrity Concealer 130-132, 134, 135: Idol Eyes Cream Shadow; (133 is not vegan) CA130: Carbon My Reach C138: MegaVolume Mascara C139: MegaLength Mascara C144: MegaPlump Mascara C149: MegaClear Mascara 154-157: Color Icon Shimmer Eye Pencil 175-178: Intuitive Blend Shade Adjusting Foundation 181A-184A: Ultimate Sheer Tinted Moisturizer 221C-238C: Fast Dry Nail Polish 301A: Photo Focus Setting Spray 309A-314A: Glassy Gloss Lip Gel 331: Color Icon Eyeshadow; (332-336 are not vegan) 346, 348: MegaGlo Illuminating Powder; (345 & 347 are not vegan) 351B – 357B: Color Icon Glitter Single MegaShield SPF 15 Lip Color (362S, 363S, 368S are not vegan) 450B-489B: Wild Shine Nail Colors 543B-559: MegaSlicks Lip Gloss (552B & 558B are not vegan) 690A-695A: MegaLast Retractable Eyeliner 749A – 750A: MegaGlo Contouring Palette 801-804: Coverstick concealer stick 821A, 823A-827A: Natural Blend Pressed Powder; (822A not vegan) 850: Cover All Face Primer 861-863, 865-868, 871A – 873A: Mega Liner Liquid Eyeliner; (864 & 541A not vegan) 875B – 876B: ProLine Felt Tip Eyeliner 877 – 878: ProLine Graphic Marker Eyeliner 879 – 880 H20 Proof Liquid Liner 886 MegaEyes Crème Eyeliner MegaLast Nail Color 201B-218 Color Icon Eyeshadow: 385B 815-820: Cover All Cream Foundation Cover All Pressed Powder ( 821B, 826B & 827B not vegan) Color Icon Blusher: 832E-833E (831E, 834E not vegan) Color Icon Blush: 828B – 829B ( 325B, 326B, 327B not vegan) 852A-857A: Ultimate Match SPF 15 Foundation 900B-919B: MegaLast Lip Color MegaLast Liquid Lip Color (920A, 927A, 930A & 932A not vegan) 739,740, 743: Color Icon Bronzer SPF 15 963: Ultimate Brow Kit 751A-752A: MegaGlo Dual-Ended Contour Stick 718A-735A: 1 Step Wonder Gel C641B-C643B: Illumi-Naughty Highlighting and Concealing Pen C985A: Ultimate Brow Universal Stencil Kit C170A-C172A: Ultimate Brow Mascara link is: http://www.wetnwildbeauty.com/faq - nsyed
  • AOA

    Please avoid their product because they have both vegan and non vegan ingredients.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-06-16 22:25:34
  • Is Dubbla Bubble gum halal - Asharaf
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contains alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-06-16 05:39:57
  • Aoa is vasanti kajal good to use for muslim lady? - Sadaf
  • AOA

    Kajil is Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-05-16 19:20:41
  • Assalamualaikum. I would like to inquire whether the product Fruit to Go by SunRype is halal. I searched your website and it said it is haraam because there is no kosher symbol, however, I checked the packaging and it has COR on it. - Farooq
  • AOA

    It is only Halal if they do not contain the following:

    (1) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers, (2) Wine, (3) Liquor, (4) Beer batter, (5) Rum flavor, (6) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol or Alcohol as a main ingredient, (7) Cochineal or Carmine, (8) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (containing Wheat & Soy as ingredients), (9) Brewer’s Yeast or Brewer Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making, (10) Nucleotides ( Torula yeast is the as source of Nucleotides but it is grown on Alcohol)), (11) Pectin ( A Mashbooh ingredient, Alcohol may be used during processing for crystization so it needs investigation), (12) Vanilla Extract, (13) Wine Vinegar, (14) Balsamic Vinegar, (15) Natural or Artificial Flavor (If hidden ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent then it is not Halal), (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (Alcohol is used in both), (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol, (18) Carrageenan ( A Mashbooh ingredient,  if ethyl alcohol or Ethanol or Alcohol is used during its processing then it is not Halal), (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction), (20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract, (21) Gelatin (22) Kosher Gelatin.


    Category: Food Products
    08-05-16 11:56:58
  • muscletech platinum fish oil softgel capsules are halal???? i mean the ingredients??? - zainab
  • AOA

    Capsules are made with pork gelatin so it is not Halal.

     

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS  

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins Kirkland Signature and Herballife. They are not Halal because they are not Kosher certified or do not have a Kosher symbol on the package (if Kosher certification meets the Halal requirements because not every Kosher certified food product is Halal).

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient as hidden ingredient. Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. It is important to know that the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher because of fish mouth.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-04-16 13:30:09
Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 57 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 853 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 1,601 ]
  •  General Question  [ 541 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 291 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 526 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 42 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 311 ]

Lj Web Management, Inc.